Arrival in South Africa ...


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
October 21st 2012
Published: October 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

The journey south was relatively uneventful, thanks to inflight entertainment, Sudoku, and lots of water.<span><span> I sat next to a friendly South African woman and we chatted during the 15 hour flight from Atlanta to Johannesburg.<span>


- One of the longest flights on Earth, I always say-<span> I tracked the flight on board our Boeing 777 and watched as the plane veered south and east, across the Atlantic Ocean, over the equator, and above the coast of Nambia before touching down at Oliver Tambo Int. Airport in Jo’burg (26 <span>° South latitude and 29 ° East longitude). <span> Sorry, I can’t help but include all these geographic references …



<span>After making my way to a local hotel, I settled in for a much needed bed and sleep.<span> Today, I’m driving to my final destination, Thohoyandou, in the Limpopo Province. It is a six hour trip, but there will be lots to see and take in along the way (including crossing the Tropic of Capricorn at 23 ° S. latitude!) as I head up to the escarpment in the north. <span> Oh yes, the weather here is great - 23° C. and sunny as we head into summer in the southern hemisphere!



<span>I’ve been thinking about all of you and hope things are well.<span> I still don’t know the final scores of the WVU game against Kansas State, or Jefferson High vs. Martinsburg.<span> But I’ll check that out soon!



<span>More later, Ann

Advertisement



Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0866s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb