Departure - OR Tambo Internation


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
July 21st 2012
Published: July 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

The journey has begun.



What a quick process... i left gautrain centurion at 1.10 and was in the international duty free area by 2... Thats ridiculously fast... Very impressed with the service.



I had a quick chicken mayo ciabatta at Europa. Its situated on a pinaccle that stretches out, so its almost like the building version of a Peninsula. Chilled there for a while and received a few phone calls. From Steyn and Marelise, was nice. Josh told me over facebook that I should make myself ready to sweat myself to death.





Right now, I'm sitting staring at the rar end of two exceptionally large A-380's, its quite a sight. Also the flight line at the cargo section is pretty impressive.





I am really excited to be on my way, all the planning has come to this. I dont even have that weird feeling of having left something behind... Thats cool. I must say, when Justin drove me to the Gautrain station, I couldn't help but feel that all the planning of the last few months had gone into one red suitcase and a ragged backpack. I could almost not believe that that was all that was going with me, considering the family holidays that I have taken usually consist of a few surfboards, fishing gear, pets, and a lot of other things.



In some ways I cant believe that all the planning has come down to this? I am actually on my way, and to have gotten to be sitting here, I must have done eveything necessary. A few months ago this was still such a high peak, and such a large mountain to climb, but now I'm here.





Its about time to catch up on some reading or something. I'm sure i' be writing again soon.

Advertisement



22nd July 2012

Picture please
Can I have a profile picture please
23rd July 2012

Bon Voyage Rick!
Ons lees graag saam oor jou wedervaringe. Ons hoor altyd die nuus by jou Oupa. Trots op so 'n neef - al sien ons mekaar nie baie nie ... is jy ons familie! Tannie Daniela en oom Kalla in Hermanus. xxx
23rd July 2012

Oh, that first feeling of contentment...
..when you sit back in the plane, and start to relax! Hope you rested out well before the hurly-burly [and sweating a la Josh] still to come. Oupa would say "carpe diem".
26th July 2012

Your progress notes
Very interesting, enjoying the trip with you - continue to keep us up to date! Regards.
26th July 2012

Your progress notes
Very interesting, enjoying the trip with you - continue to keep us up to date! Regards.
26th July 2012

Your progress notes
Very interesting, enjoying the trip with you - continue to keep us up to date! Regards.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb