look at me across the sea


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
December 11th 2011
Published: December 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

at 9 am, after saying so long to Morgan, Mum and Dad and once again confirming that i would be careful I left off.







due to the copious amount of time left before my flight and having circled all of the shops twice I decided to entertain the philosophy that international airports have no time-zones and ordered a Campari and soda. The bar had a $10 minimum for cards so i made it two Campari and soda. Feeling somewhat like an arse I sat sipping my bitter drink and reading the poetry of Pablo <span> Neruda. Looking down the terminal i saw that a line had formed at my gate before it had opened and as it eventually did i started on my second glass.







the flight was long but i was sat next to a lovely girl with friendly eyes. i would have stuck up a conversation if only i could have stopped farting. instead i watched a few episodes of MASH to get in the mood for the next four weeks.







As south africa came bumping into sight I looked out at an unfamiliar landscape. The expanses of plains were dotted with circular crops.







After clearing the airport I found myself disappointed that south africa didn’t smell different. the similarities go on and i still am finding it hard to believe that i am not in australia.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb