Sunday in South Africa - the Market


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
August 14th 2011
Published: August 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today we did what many in Johannesburg do on a Sunday afternoon - wandered around and ate at the Rosebank Mall. The mall is, well...a mall. Nothing about it really sets it apart from Anywhere USA - not the shops (Body Works even!), escalator, food court, the clothes on the people walking about. But on Sundays, I was told, there was a nice African market. So after we stopped at the drugstore so I could buy some lip stuff (it's SO dry here! thirsty all the time and my lips are chapped, chapped, chapped!), Miles and I headed to the market.


At first, even this part of the mall felt not totally unlike lots of places in the US...craft fair sorts of places. There were lots of vendors selling their wares. But as we walked through, it did take on another feel. In the food area, there was an interesting mix of things for sale and readily available for sampling (my favorite part!). The jars of olives and pickled things wrapped around one booth; eggplant and hummus prepared in various ways were stretched out across another. I watched a guy make fresh crepes, and a woman guard her cupcakes with vigor (she allowed no photos of her goods!). I nibbled at samples and sipped coffee while we wandered about.


I stopped to look at some jewelry, and the next thing I knew, the vendor asked me to pick a bracelet to have as a gift. So unexpected. So nice. When Jim saw my new copper wire bracelet he quickly suggested it's probably made from illegally obtained wire. Apparently, there's something of a problem here in Joburg with people knocking down light poles, pulling out the wiring, melting away the rubber casings, and then taking and selling off the copper wiring inside. The wire commands a pretty penny on the street. When you see black smoke rising from various areas, Jim explained, it's quite possible what you're seeing is post-wire-thieving activity. Who knew?!
Me, I am happy to have my bracelet...wherever it came from.


Among the crafts for sale were lots of wood carved objects - the kinds of things you see in lots of places (Marshalls included!) - giraffes, long-thin female figures, masks. Not sure I had before seen so many hippos though!

And, I have to say , no matter how many I see, there's something about the long thin female figures - carved, beaded, drawn, boutiqued, whatever - that always catch my eye and stir something in me. Not sure what that is, but is sure gets my attention.


Stopped to watch some tribal dancing - very cool. Loved the boots with the shells that worked sort of like shakers on the feet. Watched a guy playing the djembe, and next thing, I was playing it! Okay - not really playing it, but banging a bit. Very fun! A youth band - steal drums, hand drums, and brightly colored shirts - made music that filled large sections of outdoor shopping areas.

The 6 of us (me, Miles, Jim, Carol, and John and Gloucester - the Miles' and Jim's parents) met for lunch at Ocean Basket where we indulged in a tasty seafood meal - shrimp (they call them prawns), mussels, calamari, and line fish (which means a fish caught on a line...could be any of many differnt types...just differentiates among shellfish, fish caught in nets, and fish caught on a line). After lunch, a bit more browsing, a quick stop at a toy store to pick something up for our travels (Banangrams...just in case I suddenly need a game fix!), and back to the house.

The later afternoon was spent preparing for the big trip - clothes in bags, food and provisions in boxes and out to the car. Alarms are now set (they don't believe I'll really get up and be ready to go in the morning...just 'cause we're leaving at 5am and I've been sleeping till 11 or later...geez...no faith!)

Next time I post, I'll surely have photos of wildlife to share. Until then...




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



17th August 2011

Jill---really???
Omigosh, girl, what an adventurous life you are leading! Good to know you are still alive and having fun...Melissa and I thought we were meeting you when you got back to the 'Lana area, but never heard from you (I guess you got a better offer?:) Pls keep the blogs coming so I can further my education AND live a little vicariously. Love you!

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb