Out of Africa


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
April 12th 2009
Published: December 19th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Landing in Johanesburg for the third time in a month was weird. First time I was excited to be in Africa, second time I was excited to be going to Egypt but this time I was on the way home. Two tours. One month. I was exhausted wanted to sleep for days in my own bed. It was the first time I had been overseas for more than a week and certainly the first time where it was anything but luxurious.

Johannesburg International Airport is the main hub of South African Airways and the major primary airport for both international and domestic travel in all of Africa. After going to a few duty free stores looking for books and dvds, I took some photos of the World Cup Memorabilia. The 2010 World Cup would be held in South Africa and it was an exciting time for the city and the country to showcase itself to the world. As such the airport had been doing massive improvements.

It has recently been renamed O R Tambo Airport after Oliver Tambo. In 1985 he was elected President of the ANC. He returned to South Africa in 1991 after over 30 years in exile, and was elected National Chairperson of the ANC in July of the same year. Along with Nelson Mandala, Tambo played a pivotal part in the abolition of apartheid. Tambo died aged 75 due to complications from a stroke on April 24, 1993.

As you walk to the departure gate there is a great big sign that says, ‘We hope to see you again in Africa soon.’ Trust me, I hope so too.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb