Preparation Station


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
November 10th 2010
Published: November 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Thailand, BangkokThailand, BangkokThailand, Bangkok

This is my home away from home. Fumes, horrid smells, blankets of dirty heat but still one of my favourite cities.
This may be slightly pre-mature, 4 months to be exact but mental preparation takes a lot longer than one may think.

In March next year, this twenty something lady will leave home and head North Easterly towards the land of colour.... India. I have managed to organise myself a job in Dehli. Details of which I have no idea but one fundemental aspect is that I get to work for a month, travel for a month and so on in that exact order. That to me, is the most ideal job offer one can get (note: money does not motivate me) no matter what kind of work they ask me to do.... well to an extent I suppose.

RTW trips often take 12 months or more of preparation. Saving money, selling possessions, saving more money. I, however decided to do this about 40 days ago and therefore have had less than 2 months to save and another 4 months to continue saving. 6 months in total to save for a 12 to 18 month trip.... dillusional much? This is why I have decided to work and travel. The fact that I get to live in Dehli, enveloped in the
Thailand, Chiang MaiThailand, Chiang MaiThailand, Chiang Mai

River Rafting... Ive done the Zambezi so this was childs play for me, heaps of fun nevertheless!
everyday life, live in and amongst such a vibrant city and its people, and learn about a culture that has always fascinated me is an opportunity that cannot be overlooked!!

For me, India conjures up thoughts of beautiful women in a colourful array of saris, hard working men, bustling streets, delicious, spicy, aromatic food, a culture centred around religion and a deep sense of tradition. I think of streets packed to the brim with people, rigshaws, goats, bicycles and vendors selling all sorts of produce. I have heard so many mixed reports about India. Some say you wake up one day and you are completely and utterly in love with the place and the next morning you wake up and despise everything about it. Others dont understand why I'd want to go there at all.
I have a deep connection to the people, to the culture and I will never know why unless I go there, I surrender to the way in which they live their day to day lives and become absolutely immersed in it.

I travel a lot; I hate having my life disrupted by routine. ~Caskie Stinnett

I do love to travel, it is
Thailand, Koh SamuiThailand, Koh SamuiThailand, Koh Samui

One of many infamous buckets!!
something I am both passionate about and inextricably linked to. I actively seek new adventures and experiences. My trips have usually been limited to 4 weeks at a time, so a 12 month stint is something entirely different yet so unbelievably exciting it is difficult to comprehend.

I have soaked up the sun, sweated in the heat and partied till dawn in the South of Thailand.
I have been to Bangkok 3 times for business and another 3 for vacation. I grow to love that city more and more, in fact the people, customs and culture have become deeply engrained as my own. I can only imagine what India has to offer.
Trekked through the jungles, been tree swinging and river rafting in the North of Thailand.
Backpacked through Laos after THE scariest and coldest bus ride of my life.
I have played beach bats on the beautiful beaches of the Copacabana in Rio, travelled down the coast of Brazil.
Eaten dinner at 12am in the city of tango, Buenos Aires.
Hiked up Ice Glaciers in Patagonia and induldged in some seriously celebrity-esque restaurants in Punta del Este, Uruguay.
I have vacationed in Bali, Greece, US and spent several
Laos, Vang ViengLaos, Vang ViengLaos, Vang Vieng

A tiny, quiet town with many hidden agendas... down the river of alcohol, partying and craziness
new years eve's in and around Australia.

Backpacking is something I crave. It is like an indelible force within me.

I want to live out of one backpack for months on end. I want to wear the same top over and over again. I want to get lost in a foreign city and struggle to find my way home. I want to eat local delicacies (barring anything with wings or legs of course) and drink the local beer. I want to listen to traditional music and dance to my heart's content.

Yes, I may be leaving my family, my friends and the comforts of home that I have become very accustomed to but I am not leaving forever. I am going, head on, into the unknown, hoping for a cultural, fun-filled and delicious attack on my senses.

The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page. ~St. Augustine











Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Argentina, Buenos AiresArgentina, Buenos Aires
Argentina, Buenos Aires

20 bongo drums and 4 of those beers = one super awesome rhythm!!
Argentina, Buenos AiresArgentina, Buenos Aires
Argentina, Buenos Aires

The sultry tango
Patagonia, El CalafatePatagonia, El Calafate
Patagonia, El Calafate

Beauty in its most natural state. Breathtaking
Greece, AthensGreece, Athens
Greece, Athens

Acropolis - Parthenon


12th November 2010

well *insert swear word* done!
this is brilliant mart! loved reading it and excited to follow your travels. one girl. one bag. (:-( )
12th November 2010

I also think about goats & bicycles in India
Mart, this is going to be one of THE most amazing journeys of your life. I hope it only brings you experiences filled with joy and laughter :)
12th November 2010

an inspiration
you are an inspiration, and i cant wait to follow you a long your journey through this awesome kick ass blog!!!!! LOVE YOU!!!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb