So, you won't believe this, but....


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
September 4th 2008
Published: September 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A Day OffA Day OffA Day Off

Chillin' at Camps Bay with Rukiya
I'm working in Johannesburg.

I have so many many things to write about - I've been bad with the entries largely because I've been internetless for much of the past month. Anyway, I've been into Limpopo and Kruger Park twice, finished a bunch of applications (hurrah!) and am now working for the incredibly famous and important artist, William Kentridge. I mean seriously - check him out! He's producing a version of Shostakovich's opera The Nose (based on the Gogol' story), set to open at the Met in 2010. He needed translation and graphics work done, and he hired me! I'm here till Saturday, at which point I fly back to the states for a whirlwind tour which will include DC, Denver, Chicago, Denver, Sacramento, Denver - in one week. Hopefully I stay sane.

Anyway, I'll be sure to post a more complete update later - I'm going to try to post some pictures now. This has seriously been one of the most wonderful summers of my life so far.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

SunsetSunset
Sunset

Sunset over Table Mountain, as seen from Hillcrest Manor
Lion's HeadLion's Head
Lion's Head

from Camps Bay
BeulahBeulah
Beulah

Prof. Bunn's Land Rover. On which I learned to drive stick. While being charged by elephants. Seriously.
BaobabBaobab
Baobab

At Makuya Park
Mission Accomplished!Mission Accomplished!
Mission Accomplished!

At the top of Makahane, Prof. Bunn and me.
One Corpse...One Corpse...
One Corpse...

I saw a bunch of dead buffalo on this trip, for some reason
Adventure ContinuesAdventure Continues
Adventure Continues

Sunset from the Land Rover (driver's side, remember?) outside Punda Maria
Song and DanceSong and Dance
Song and Dance

We were at Hamakuya with ethnomusicologists, so we were treated to some amazing performances
The Man of the Hour!The Man of the Hour!
The Man of the Hour!

Obed Ramashia, performing his music.
The Sewing LadiesThe Sewing Ladies
The Sewing Ladies

I consulted these lovely ladies on their sewing business for four days
You silly American...You silly American...
You silly American...

Kids from Tshandzwane
The Letaba RiverThe Letaba River
The Letaba River

Home of our favorite Hippos
ElephantsElephants
Elephants

This is just for Josh. I stalled out in front of this breeding herd and had a minor heart attack.
Mr. NetshePepe'sMr. NetshePepe's
Mr. NetshePepe's

Site of all the merriment


Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb