First experiences of Africa


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Gauteng » Johannesburg
March 21st 2007
Published: March 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sun18th
I arrived at 5.30 after having a 10 hour flight with little leg room and although I had 3 spare seats next to me the arm rests didn’t lift up so I couldn’t spread out. I had breakfast at the airport while waiting for the shuttle. Once I arrived at the Backpackers, which is surrounded by 6 foot fencing, I went down to their swimming pool- as there wasn’t a spare bed yet. I got talking to a few people it is nice and relaxed here.
In the afternoon I joined a group on a tour around Johannesburg. We went to a museum which was OK but a bit rushed and not very well laid out to find anything. Then we went under a bank to see an entrance to one of the gold mines and up the highest building to see the view. The most interesting part of the tour was driving through the different areas of town. (See photos)
In the evening Alcina (friend from home who is working here) came and picked me up and we went back to her hotel which is inside a walled area with shops and restaurants. We went to an African restaurant and I had a lentil bake thing that was really nice and then we got our face painted- Thankyou Alcina’s work for paying!! It was great to see someone from home.

Mon 19th
Caught up with my sleep and slept till lunchtime. Walked to the mall and got food from the supermarket. Mmm crunchy nut cornflakes!! Spent most of day relaxing with Rachel and Kuno and Ryan. In the evening went to the bar that is inside the hostel it is a bit like a uni bar.

Tue 20th
Rachel left early in the morning. Ryan, Kuno and I went to the Apartheide Museum. It was really interesting and informative there with good thought out displays. However our journey was more special. As Kuno new how to get there we got the local bus instead of getting a taxi. Although the apartheide (separation of whites and blacks) is over we were the only white people on the bus. An old man got on and started ranting about how we were all brothers - it was great!
Went swimming in the afternoon and played pool in the evening.

Wed 21st
I’m meeting the rest of my tour
Entrance to the gold mineEntrance to the gold mineEntrance to the gold mine

Gold was the reason the town grew
group tonight. Went to nice bakery for breakfast. Relaxing today before moving every day on the trip. Its been nice to be based in one place for a few days and just relax.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

HillbrowHillbrow
Hillbrow

the 'dodgy' area
HoughtonHoughton
Houghton

The posh area Note big walls and security guard box
Mandela's houseMandela's house
Mandela's house

Note delivery with his name on
Apartheide MuseumApartheide Museum
Apartheide Museum

ID card everyone had to have


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb