Close-Death Encounter!!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Free State » Drakensberg
May 16th 2009
Published: May 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

...well, that's what it felt like!! Never experienced such ridiculously high winds while hanging off a cliff-face trying to tie ropes to hangers and the like!! The ropes actually wouldn't go down the cliff, I was throwing them and they actually came right back out to the side and nearly knocked me out :p good times!! Managed to fix it though, eventually, had to go to the bottom and free-climb back up a bit to grab them!!

Annnyway, yea, I'm not actually in the Drakensberg (I wish!!) We're literally just outside them, we can see some of the mountanis though from where we are in Harrismith. Some funny stuff has happened today like!! The grouop arrived late last night, and me and Archie took them for PT this morning!! He did some warm-up exercises, then I took them for stretching and a run and a cool-down, was hilarious!! I think I did a good job though :p I also went all instructory on them and made them think about why we do PT, ooooh yea!! Hoyed breakfast (we have STRAWBERRY YOGHURT HERE!! Closest I've had to luxury since G&G were here) :p and found another matress, as I keep getting a sore lower back. DEAR GOD golf ball sized halestones outside right now!! So glad I'm not on course... really hope the watch tent is holding up ok :S then me and Iona and Natasha had to clear out the room they keep the matresses in, and we found that the rats had been there... rat-poo EVERYWHERE, was horrific!! Then they took me up to the rox site, as I hadn't been before, and I need to know where everything is. Went up, I did climb 1 - and as I say, I thought I was going to die at points!! There was a few times that I actually had to just hang there and wait until the wind subsided just a little, cuz you couldn't actually do anything!! I was going to stick around and actually do the climb with the group, but it was so wet and windy by that point I decided not to, and we ran back and hoyed lunch. We were chilling, then realised that the cows were trying to get in to our tent!! Luckily,we have a massive cattle-whip lying around base, which I've mastered the technique in, so I went out and scared them a bit :p one actually did get in though, but we managed to get it out fairly quickly. I walked up to Qwantani, and got rather wet, but I'm here now :p

SO, the past few days!! After last time, we went to Panoratti's for pizza, it was sooo nice!! Good flavours. and nice and soft. Ted got a row for playing on the barriers outside the restaurant, then we hoyed it back in the buckie to base. Found out that James accidently stole my iPod charger!! Won't see him for a few weeks yet, grr. Ach well :p can live without music for 2 weeks!!

On the Tuesday (12th) we travelled!! GOt up at 5 to finish packing, and we left at 6 for the bus-stop. Me and Iona and Natasha went on the bus to Jo-burg, saw some fil called Sahara, was ok. Spent a few hours at the bus station, SUCH good banter!! Not laughed that much in a while :p was acutally quite nice sitting outside and watching Jo-burg go by. Got the bus to Harrismith - saw a film called Extreme Days or something? Was quite good. Got to Harrismith, which is waaaay far out from anywhere, but acutually quite a big town, and really nice!! Table-Mountain - like mountain surrounding it. We hung about for a while, I bought biltong :D and sat in a pub and waited for Henk to come pick us up (there was no room in the buckie for us you see, hence the bus.) They were very late, so got to Harrismith about 8, after being asked out by the vegetable man in the supermarket!! Too funny. Pitched Maricelle's tent (which I got to myself as she was sharing with Jeff) :D and want to bed - people tried to Braai, but everyone was too tired.

Wed - went for a nice cold run after waking up early!! Hoyed some tummy exercises at the Quantani harbour, then went back and had brekkie. It was a prep day, so I counted rations and cooked 2-min noodles for lunch with Iona and Natasha. Hung out with lovebirds Henk and Natasa, then me and Iona ende dup going food-shopping with Maricelle, Jeff, Sifiso and Archie - was too funny!! I was running around the supermarket at one point with 1 full and 1 half-full trolley, grabbing instructor and group rations as quick as I could, with Iona running along behind chucking stuff in as well. We totalyl overspent, but they're eating damn well with out fantastic veg-filled recipies!! :p went back and it was boma night at Qwantani (liek an indoor braai, you take your own meat and you eat!! They give you salad and paup and stuff if you pay, which OB do) :D was awesome to get a hot shower!! We don't shower at base, as the water is freezing. Spoke to my Roy 😊 he spoke to Tash and Iona as well :p killed Natasha at pool, then we headed back to base and partied in the tiny kitchen. There's no electricity, so you have to boil water on the hob, its fun stuff.

Thurs - another run, a nice relaxed one with Archie and Iona to the bridge, nice and hilly scenic route, bout 5 or 6ks maybe. Hoyed brekkie and a pathetic wash with a basin of warm water :p then we all went to dig a toilet for the group, YEA!! It was so funny. I hoyed that pickaxe and spade, got very tired very quick, and got theee best massage from Iona. Weather was stunning!! Went back and sorted more rations (always ration-sorting needing done...) and me and Iona walked to the gate to ge my phone, met the gate-people so feel ok asking them to charge my phone now :p hoyed it to Qwantani in the lorry with Henk and Tash and Iona and Ted, they all used the net while I jumped on the trampoline and played in the park :D checked facebook quick, then we went back and cooked chilli con carne, Iona got all stressed, was cute!! Spoke to my Roy as its outr 15 months <3 and spoke to maw :D was awesome.

Fri - went for a run, same as yesterday but faster, killed those uphills!! Attempted to wash again, made viennas for the group coming, rescued the marquee tent from the wind, de-pitched Maricelle's tent for her, tided one of the corners of the rations store, chilled in the marquee, took photos, hoyed lunch, and I felt a bit ill at this point, sore head, so I took a matress adn went for a lie-down in the sun. I think I must have drifted off, cuz I was vaguely away of Tash and Iona screaming at me to get up - and I looked up at a cow was running towards me!! I thought I was dreaming. I got up, but the cow must have lost interst and had swerved and was running in the other direction - was too funny. I then realised I had a cucumber beside me, and later Sifiso tuned Tash and Iona, because its against the Zulu culture to play with food, apparently!! I laughed a lot. Had a meeting with Sifiso and Archie, about us wanting to go on parts of the course - unfortunately, we're not allowed, but they're going to try and take us to all the places we want to go, so its all good!! Its proabably for the best anyway, as its a faith-based course... :p me and Iona went for along walk up to the harbour at Qwantani, had a good chat abotu everything, started deciding what we're going to do with our leave when I'm finished - its gunna be goooood man!! Its scary to think I only have like 5 or 6 more weeks here :S cooked stir-fry for everyone, was nice, my baby this time!! Though I think I over-cooked the meat slightly, but it still tasted awesome :D we sorted out our matresses in the marquee, I have the awesome stop between Tash and Iona, so I get less chilled by the wind as least!! Its kina nice actualy, falling asleep in your nice warm sleepnig bag with the cold wind blowing over your face (the marquee has no door-flap) :p

Tonight is boma night again, woop!! Going to go get a hot shower after I've finished typing stuff up for Sifiso. Having a ball, still!! Love you all loads!! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



16th May 2009

Alive!
Glad to hear you're still alive !! Love you lots , Mum. xxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb