Here's the beautiful berg


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Free State » Drakensberg
February 16th 2007
Published: February 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Down by the riverDown by the riverDown by the river

Neetz holding an Eland's horn
Thanks to the wonderful hospitality of Hans, Frances, and the girls’ (my Aunt, Uncle and cousins) Neetz and I spent three days and 40km trekking through the Sani Pass area of the Drakensberg.

Day one was characterised mostly by first class form on our part. Neetz wore her new shoes that had only been worn in at Sydney Airport and so after less than a kilometre she had to swap shoes with Frances. Frances somehow then endured the agony of Neetz’s shoes so that we could make it to Pholela Cave, where we spent our first night.

Due to the numerous blisters (among other things) I carried Neetz’s pack and mine after the first 3 kms of the first day. A main strap on my pack subsequently gave way from the weight of both packs and fortunately I was able to sew my pack back up at our lunch break. Despite almost falling down a steep bank when the strap broke I was most relieved that the 3 tallies I was carrying did not break. Absolute Aussie class I reckon.

Day 2 was a short hike and the attached photos show the remnants of an Eland that Hans
Neetz hikingNeetz hikingNeetz hiking

Neetz is off, and she's stuffed
found. During our stay in the second cave I felt what I thought was an ant in my sleeping bag. I brushed it away after the first two times it bit me and when the third bite felt a whole lot worse I thought it was time to get up and check it out. It stung me again a fourth time on the inside of my thigh before I noticed it was a centipede not an ant! I lay there for an hour unable to sleep as the poison caused the gland in my groin to throb with pain. I finally got back to sleep and when I told Hans about the bugger he said ‘I thought centipedes were hospital jobs.’ I’m glad it wasn’t as we were about 20km from the car.

All up I had a great time; Neetz got some great blisters but loved the trek in retrospect. Thank you to Hans, Frances, Ingrid, Ceri and Ness for taking us up with you. Thank you also for the brilliant cooking, beer and great company. We can’t wait to see you all again before we leave.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The LakesThe Lakes
The Lakes

This is just before the mist came through and we couldn't see a thing


1st March 2007

Hey guys
Sounds like your having so much fun! trust you nita not to have worn your shoes in first. i expect lots of stories when i seee you next, which will hopefully be in europe somewhere. have fun and stay safe.
3rd March 2007

My shoes!
Oi! you shut up! I've finally worn in my shoes...I think. I still need bandaids on the back of my feet cuz I still haven't healed from the Berg! Talk to you soon, Luv Nita

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb