Cocktails, good food and rugby players... the only way to start and end South Africa!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Free State » Bloemfontein
July 24th 2011
Published: February 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Cocktails in PretoriaCocktails in PretoriaCocktails in Pretoria

this picture looks far too innocent!
The day I arrived at Johannesburg airport to meet the volunteers I'd be living with for the next few weeks, I did in fact meet the people who would become not only my best friends, but also my family. Within 24 hours I felt like I knew these people so well, and that we would all be so close while living here in South Africa. You guys are the best 😊 Im gonna miss you all so much!

I met Stacey, Lloyd, Jay and Rory in Joburg, and we were driven to Pretoria for our orientation and to meet the other volunteers not just from our group, but those going on al sorts of different projects all over South Africa. That day we went to a local sports bar for lunch, and this is where my title comes into play for the first time. Cocktails were half price on a monday (and there was me thinking Africa would be a sober month of my travels - haha how wrong I was), so we ordered African daiquiris, which turned out to be multi-coloured and full of jelly tots - SCORE! Then food arrived- yum- I do love my food. Then to top it all off, a team of rugby players were training just outside the window from where we were sitting, and it just so happened they were the Blue Bulls, South Africas top rugby team- PHWOAARRR. Double score! Men, drink and food what more could a girl ask for!

So it's safe to say SA started off pretty damn promisingly. The 3 weeks at Cheetah Experience was the best volunteer project Ive ever been involved in. Then on my last weekend, we went to an Irish Pub after work, and you know what that means- yes, food, drink and men 😉 So the food was of course delicious. We also decided to try a few irish cocktails and omg irish cream was to die for hook me up to a drip of it right now please. We didn't stop there though, between Jay and I we had a bottle of wine, loads of cocktails, 10 shots, and 2 JDs. The SA men in the pub still weren't looking too hot unfortunately, however on the tv screen infront of us was indeed the Blue Bulls! They were playing the Cheetahs, very appropriately who were we were supposed to be supporting considering the name, but hey we are girls so we were supporting every man who was playing 😉

Indeed SA not only began, but was also concluded in the best way possible, and I shared those experiences with the most amazing people in the world. Im gutted beyond words to be going home, but at least Ive ended on a high, and have only the most brilliant memories to be going home with...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb