The Real Farewell, Fiday Night Fling and the Apple Expess


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape
March 15th 2010
Published: March 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The real Farewell, Friday night fling and the Apple Express
Friday was the last day for all of the volunteers and, in order to get us all to our last assemblies, the driver, Xolani, said he would pick us all up earlier than usual. I was first drop off and got there at 7.30. There were no cars outside. After the others waved goodbye and the bus left, I went round to the entrance to the staff area to discover it was locked and there were no other adults. I did have a moments panic. After 15 minutes, the staff started to arrive and I was there for a whole assembly for the first time. It followed a similar pattern with plenty of singing and swaying except there was a visiting minister who told a bible story in Xhosa which I did not decipher. I was called on to say something then there was another song which seemed to be coming with particular gusto. The principal turned to me and said it was in my honour so I did a bit of swaying and clapping. Then some of the staff started some energetic dancing and it seemed to turn into a brief party. Voo Voo, a particularly friendly grade 3 teacher who I worked with last time, was really enjoying herself.
It was still hot and I wanted to see at least the four groups I missed on Thursday to say goodbye and have a little party - story, biscuits and stickers! I was nearly foiled by another sudden change as there was an environmental clean up project in the middle of the morning and all the children were out in the field ( more of a dust plot) with black bags picking up litter, a perpetual problem here. They also cleaned out the gutters and swept again outside. I just managed to fit short sessions with the last two groups in the half an hour before lunch break and the event, scheduled for 12.00. I am not supposed to know but I did managed to find out the time because someone from Calabash has to come and be involved and that involves sorting out all the transport and members of staff there as three of the farewells were at the same time in different schools!
Thank you Helen and Laurie was changed to read Thank you Sue in the nick of time. When I arrive it had said Thank you Jean and Diana. Some sensible recycling goes on. There is always a programme director for a farewell, a formally printed out programme identifying who has to speak and a decorated staff room. It starts with sung prayer and every speech has singing in between. The singing is wonderful and the lead singer at Joe Slovo has a beautiful very powerful voice, bags of enthusiasm and great hips! In fact they have hips and bottoms here like nowhere else and move with great wiggle and sway in time to the music. I feel bound to join in that even when I don’t know the words as it is very infectious. Everyone thanks everyone else and says how well the volunteer project is going, what a supportive school JS is and how much they appreciate the volunteer in question. A highlight for me was 12 of my children coming and singing a special goodbye song. One of them singing it to me in the group, and I would say “Oh, Is somebody leaving soon?”. This caused giggles. It caused even more when I hugged the teacher afterwards and told her as it was supposed to be a secret. I had to respond to the staff so I wrote them a poem, a bit drippy, but they liked it and it has been kept for posterity. I did try it out on a couple of friends to see if it was too silly. There was then presentations and they gave me somepersonal gifts to remember them by.
Friday evening, we had the gumboot dancers. Last time, I wasn’t too impressed but this time the introduction explained how it was a method of communication used in the mines when the workers all spoke different African languages. When the dancers introduced themselves afterwards, they were all in grade 12 and working hard towards quite ambitious aims, lawyer, doctor, tour operator and business man. It is a youth group developing traditional arts.
On Saturday, we went on the single track Apple Express Railway. We did it two years ago but it now goes further into the mountains. We were really lucky and had a first class compartment to ourselves, all wood panels and leather seats. We felt very special and enjoyed waving to all the children who appear along the track. It only runs occasionally so is noted by the local population. It is quite an exciting trip and took us across the Van Stadens gorge and in to the mountains where we stopped for a while and had a picnic lunch before the journey back. It was a whole days outing.
Today, Sunday, the deputy principal at Joe Slovo had invited me out for a drive and suggested I see if any of the others wanted to go. Three of us went out in her wagon and she took us along the coast and then to a different new small game park called a Lion Park. Although the lions were in an enclosure and not very visible, the rest of the park was really good and we were closer to giraffes, zebra and springbok, impala and others than anywhere else. I used her camera and she will put them on Facebook for me. She then drove us in a circle round PE so that we could see some different areas and back to her house for a glass of champagne. She has a very interesting modern house with great mountain views and we got to talk to her parrot - an African Grey who can whistle happy birthday amongst other tricks. I invited her back to dinner with us her at the hotel, so it was a full day.
We had all done different things today so had to compare notes. It has been a very well bonded group and that adds to the positive feelings about the journey we have been on over the last month. I really write this for me as much as for anyone else but thank you to those who have come with me and for your comments and messages.


Advertisement



15th March 2010

goodbyes
Hi, sounds as tho you have had a successful and very useful few weeks, well done that girl. Enjoy the last few days , and make the most of the warmth, love H
15th March 2010

WOW what an awesome "finale" to your adventure/trip - I will get someone to sign me on th Facebook so I can see the photos of the animals - I am really envious of that...!
16th March 2010

thanks
Thanks for making the effort to write your blog so regularly. Barry and i have enjoyed reading it very much as it brought back so many memories of our time in PE. The final farewell is always moving and I always cry and become too emotional. It makes us want to return once again. I am glad you had such a successful trip.

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb