More rain!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Port St Johns
April 17th 2006
Published: May 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

SunflowerSunflowerSunflower

And I thought my darling had a big head!
More rain! Mind you, it is so green & lush here it must rain alot! It's wild here. Monkeys swinging from trees, cows on the beach...The beaches would be lovely if the sun were shining. Unfortunately Amapondo where we stayed isn't really geared up for the wet.The only dry place to hang out was the bar or kitchen. The morning after we arrived there was a break in the weather so we took our chances & walked into town. We had quite a shopping experience here in the shoprite supermarket. Security wouldn't let us take our day pack inside(?)so Deano waited outside whilst I shopped. It was your standard African supermarket, merchandise in awkward spots, someone buffing the floor under your feet whilst everyone hangs around having a chat! So, I pushed my way through, payed at the checkout & as I was leaving a beggar was grabbing my arm with my change in it. I swung around to hit him only to find it was security! He wanted to check my receipt. Yes, sure, here you go, bye. No! He took out his pen & itemized every single thing in my bag!I haven't come all the way from Australia to
New friendNew friendNew friend

He didn't want to be any where else but my shoulder!
steal a loaf of bread! I felt really put out & declared to Dean that we are never shopping @ shoprite again! After our shopping experience we were relieved of a 45min walk back when a guy offfered us a ride in the back of his pickup. Later that afternoon we went for a walk & saw 2 English guys, one with a crow on his foot. This bird had come from nowhere & latched on!Anyhow, they were relieved when we arrived because it took a liking to Dean & progressed from his foot to shoulder in seconds! It wouldn't have a bar of me & was content to go cruising on Deanos shoulder & or head! The guy who had given us the lift then pulled up & said it belonged to someone down the road & could we take him home? So off we went to do our good deed for the day & were quite disappointed when the owners (who are white) didn't even thank us for our efforts! Weird! It appears there are some really nice walks to do around here but we were fed up with the rain & decided after a few weeks along
Monkey BusinessMonkey BusinessMonkey Business

The monkey was looking at my other shoulder!
the Wild Coast that it was time to hit the big smoke!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

No dogs allowedNo dogs allowed
No dogs allowed

It's funny what is and isn't allowed on the beach!
Port St. JohnPort St. John
Port St. John

One of the rare moments it wasn't raining!


22nd September 2006

No dogs
heita its been like that for years may broer its been no dogs but amazigly them horses cosw ,them dokeys we chat we them in PSJ

Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 96; dbt: 0.0947s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb