New experiences


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Eastern Cape » Mthatha
August 12th 2008
Published: August 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Of course there will be excitement. But, there are also the more mundane tasks that make us human, no matter the location. Maybe it was the discovery of Uncle Ben's South African nemesis on a bag of rice. Now that I am officially "Uncle Ben," it put me in a pensive, self-reflecting mood, and I made some dramatic revelations about my more domestic side.

I have not really "used" a bathtub for nearly two decades. Now it is only the focus of questions such as, "why don't you ever clean your bathtub?" and "I am not using that shower until you clean the bathtub, understand?" and "you still haven't cleaned the bathtub?" Nevertheless, I have used a bathtub twice recently for things I never had before.

1. Bathing. Yes, technically I have taken a bath in a bathtub before. But not since I was 7 and sharing the tub with GI Joe. Taking a bath as a full grown man is a completely different experience. First, let me clarify that this is not a bathtub with a shower wand. It is a bathtub. It has a hot faucet, a cold faucet, and a drain. Second, it is not designed for 6'4". In order to clean every part of me, which is kind of the idea behind a bath, it takes, essentially, a pommel horse routine. I have never been around a drowning wildebeest, but I can imagine the similarities.

2. Laundry. The hardest thing is getting all of the soap out. I mean, really, how can there still be soap after wringing and pushing and squeezing a million times? I used a modified washboard technique, which actually is the way to go. I guess that's not surprising as that's what everyone did for forever, but now I'm on board too. The laundry actually turned out okay. The only disappointment was when I was asked why I didn't just use the washing machine on the complex. I didn't really have a good answer.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



12th August 2008

Yes, it has been years since you've put in "tubby time"! Good to hear the water is running and there is a "hot" side to the faucets --unlike Kunene. Great talking with you this afternoon, I missed some of the conversation as it was choppy a few times when you were speaking, doesn't matter. you sounded great. Glad all is well and new experiences present themselves each day. Love, Mom
13th August 2008

Keepin' the rice in the family!
Hey Ben! Got a great laugh out of seeing the Aunt Caroline rice! Your cousin will be pleased to know that we named her for rice only found a continent or two away...you WERE named for Uncle Ben's rice, right? LOL...like you discovered a washing machine after doing it by hand, perhaps you'll find a shower?? Hope so! We all send hugs and love...everyone is well here. Max home from VT but out all the time visiting hs friends...Scott's flying...Caroline shopping for college...again...haha...and I am holding down the fort with the help of 4 crazy canines...take good care, Stef, Scott, Max and Caroline
18th August 2008

Happy Birthday To You
That's it Ben...sending my love wrapped in a BIRTHDAY HUG! Mom
22nd August 2008

Africa Ahoy
Happy belated Birthday! I'm so glad to read your blog. I (and the moving van) managed to make it to Utah without having a breakdown. On Monday I'm teaching my first class. Whoa. Good luck in your travels. And congratulations on becoming a blogger. Now you really are somebody.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb