Layovers in Freetown


Advertisement
Sierra Leone's flag
Africa » Sierra Leone » Freetown
April 4th 2007
Published: April 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

waiting at the airportwaiting at the airportwaiting at the airport

Here we are waiting at the airport terminal for some sort of answer to what is happening to us!
Welcome to my adventures to Africa which are no short of excitement from the first plane to the day I got actually to Liberia on the Anastasis Mercy Ship. I must begin by telling you a bit about how African travel is here with my story of the layover. I left from London in the afternoon in hopes to be at Monrovia, Liberia where the ship is stationed at Freeport. Knowing that I would have a quick stopover in Freetown, Sierra Leone I decided to not worry too much. People get off the plane, people get on and we take off!

WELL, that is not the case that happened. We were told first that the passengers that were supposed to carry on would stay on the plane and wait, then all of a sudden we were told there were some "engine" problems so we would have to get off while they fixed the plane... okay... typical I was thinking... AFrica, nothing is reliable, so we waited.

As soon as I got off the plane, instantly my memories took me back. All the sites, sounds, smells, and instant stickiness I felt just flooded back memories of being in Ghana.
Waiting!Waiting!Waiting!

Matt, Leah and I (well I\'m taking the photo) sharing chocolate covered Almonds to pass the time!
It was amazing and I knew at least I WAS definately in Africa... it was a really exciting moment for me as the realization actually hit me at the airport in Sierra Leone that I WAS IN AFRICA. My dream was reality.

There were a few missions groups from America and some independent people off to Liberia to do various mission type things. So, we chatted and shared our stories of why all us "whities" were going off to Liberia stuck in this same situation.

We were never really told anything, but someone heard from one of the flight attendants that we were boarding the plane at 10p.m. And, there was a couple visiting their daughter on the ship so they were in contact with their mobile to them at the airport in Monrovia that we were saying that we would not be leaving until the morning... great! spending the night at Freetown airport... my favorite thing to do!

But then 10p.m. rolls around and we see people bused over to the airplane boarding the plane... but not us... then I hear the plane start it's engines... then I see the plane take off... without us! I
Gettin on the helicopter!Gettin on the helicopter!Gettin on the helicopter!

This is us slowly loading on the helicopter for the first time. We were all a little unsure where it was taking us, but we just trusted that it would take us where it was supposed to. Apparently becuase of the location of Freetown to the airport, the only way to get there is by helicopter or taking a ferry which is more common I'm sure, due to the cost. The ferry would take about an hour... the helicopter.. about 5 minutes!
guess what had happened is that they decided with the engine problem they had to skip the Monrovia stopover and just travel straight back up to London... so I Guess we would have to wait!

No one knew what was going on, next step... we were ushered to pick up our luggage... all there! Next we were told to make a choice to stay in a hotel close to the airport or go over to Freetown, Sierra Leone across the water to a hotel. Umm... well we decided for the Freetown route! At least I would get to see it!

We were then ushered on a bus and we drove about 500 feet to A HELICOPTER! THis helicopter flew us over to the landing pad in Freetown, where buses took us to this amazingly nice hotel called the Cape Sierra and we stayed with airconditioned rooms and breakfast for us the next morning... then we were bused back to the helicopter pad... flown back over to the airport, and where we waited for a 16 passenger charter plane to fly us to Monrovia, Liberia!!! THis charter flight had to make 3 trips all day back and forth to
Matt and IMatt and IMatt and I

My happy face that I am actually going to ride a helicopter in AFrica... not the best place to be riding them I'm sure.. but excited nontheless!!
take all of us who were stranded!
It was really neat. and I know I should have been scared or worried, but I honestly really wasn't. I couldn't help it cause I was just so excited to see Freetown, and most of all to fly in a HELICOPTER.... hello!!!! how cool is that. I know that we were protected and I really got to meet some amazing people doing really noble mission work to make a difference for the Liberian people, so God was there! No doubt! I got to the ship in one piece and one heck of an explanation as to why I was not at the airport when I was supposed to!



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

in the helicopterin the helicopter
in the helicopter

This is all the people plus a few more that didn't make it in the pic... but we had all our stuff piled in the middle and we sat on the edges...
Boat along coastBoat along coast
Boat along coast

This is one of the many beaches in Freetown and this is a typical fishing boat along it's shores!
HotelHotel
Hotel

This is the hotel gate where we stayed at. It was really nice and I'm sure it's the only hotel in Freetown where "white people" stay!
helicopter helicopter
helicopter

loading the helicopter the next day! Apparently helicopters have strict guidelines of how used the parts get. Like 300 flying hours they replace things... here... as long as it works! didn't really want to know that!
the helicopter pilotthe helicopter pilot
the helicopter pilot

here's the guy who flies the helicopter!
charter planecharter plane
charter plane

the charter plane we flew had some nice captions in the side of it! Good thing there are directions on how to break in to the plane!
UN HelicopterUN Helicopter
UN Helicopter

There are currently 14,000 UN troops here in Liberia to attempt to keep the fragile peace that the country holds right now... so the view from the plane when we arrived in Liberia was that of many planes and helicopters that have UN on the side! Quite a site!


6th April 2007

Glad to hear from you!
Melissa we are so glad to hear that you are okay and starting this amazing journey. We are even jealous about the helicopter ride! Keep us up to date on your journey. Love you!
7th April 2007

You go girl!!
Wow, loved this entry, especially your comment about your dream becoming a reality. I know that wherever you are, the people you treat will be blessed as I was. You're an exceptional person, and a great nurse. Keep these coming!!!
7th April 2007

You made it!!!
Hello there - so glad to hear of your incredible adventures. That is soooo cool that you got to fly in a chopper! Loved your sleep deprived account of London. Can't wait to hear of your further adventures and see more pics. You are always in my prayers.... s
7th April 2007

Hey Mel! wow...that sounds like an amazing adventure already. I'll be praying for you....I'm so jealous that you're in Africa...I wish I could be there right now too.! Love Ya!

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb