On the job


Advertisement
Seychelles' flag
Africa » Seychelles
July 28th 2010
Published: September 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Finding out where to make tea is the first most important thing I think I learn on my first day at the British High Commission. The second is how to log in to my beggaring computer. I manage it eventually and it feels odd being on a dot in the middle of the indian ocean and yet connected to the UK Civil Service (once again) like I’ve never been away, though this time its an fco.gov.uk email ending, darling. I also fend off questions about visas that I cannot even begin to answer (its not really what I’m there for) and realise that such questions may now be the stuff of dinner table conversations as I’ve already had informal approaches from people I know. My advice? Read the website that’s what I do.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb