Internet frenzy


Advertisement
Seychelles' flag
Africa » Seychelles » Mahé
March 10th 2010
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

You have to love the Seychelles. Not just for escaped prisoners roaming the island (I think they were soon scooped up I mean where were they going?) but for the quirks of how they do things.

Take the internet. All providers here offer broadband based on bandwidth allowances (the more you pay the more you have).We're on Cable and Wireless'cheapest package (600 rupees/£30 a month so not that cheap) for 3GB. We joined end of January, so naturally I assumed our 3GB allowance would last till the end of Fe. Not so. Way too smart - they only work on calendar months apparently. So instead we're told that we have 3 days to download/upload a month's worth of internet usage. WAHEY!!Run round house like chickens. Load me up and let's mix it up baby.

- YES to Radio 4, 100 objects that tell the history of the world (1-13 down only another 87 to go)
- YES to lots of information about how I might be able to get a Gainful Occupation Permit (GOP) to stop me idling away time on the internet and to get a real job
- YES to Front Row to make like we're ya ya ya culture vultures a la Mark Lawson
- YES to Big Bang Theory telethon. Bazinga- Sheldon I love you!
- YES to Doctor Who, Dear David we haven't lost you in Seychelles yet but the end is imminent, sob : (

I near O'd. I had to be forced to go to bed.

www.paradisepromised.wordpress.com


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb