Feeling Rather Peace Corps


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal
June 23rd 2008
Published: June 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, I'm feeling a lot like a Peace Corps volunteer these days. Our water was cut off for five straight days and we had to take bucket baths. We had to go get water from boreholes in the neighborhood. We have a pump in our yard, but it has never worked; we thought it best to suck it up and get it fixed because we didn't know how long the water problem would last. We heard that disgruntled citizens tend to break the pipes that carry water from St. Louis to Dakar when they want to make political statements. I have no idea if that is true or not, but even if it were, it is not likely one would hear that on the news. The water has come back on, but the power seems to get cut for approximately 8 hours at a time, so even if the water is running, the electric pump cannot get it into the pipes. So, here I live in this beautiful 7 bedroom, 6 bathroom house and I find myself bathing like a villager! 😊

Our generator has been to the repair shop several times and leaves again tomorrow...for some reason it finds its way back on the roof over and over and still doesn't work!

Thank goodness our stove runs on gas! I'm baking whole wheat bread as I type...bummer though, I had it rising in the kitchen and went down expecting it to be all fluffy and light and someone put it in the fridge and stunted its growth...so we will have 'stout rolls' for breakfast it seems...

I wrote a blog about the Independence Day Parade and then my other computer froze up and I couldn't upload the photos. I've shut down and rebooted several times and still nothing is happening. That computer is a bit fried from viruses! I hope I didn't reactivate something when I was messing around in those files.

We had a guest visitor from Liberia today preaching in church...I nodded off...I've never done that in church before! The dude came down and walked behind me and put his hand on my head; of course by the time he did it, I had already been revived by his passionate screaming into the screeching microphone...but it was embarrassing, none-the-less!

I spent most of the afternoon working on my iTunes. I'm officially addicted to podcasts...got to go check the bread...

Very nice, hot bread and melted butter!

The children start VBS next week which will be nice; I think they are already stir crazy!

Well, if I can get to those photos of the parade, I'll post that again; if not, maybe in another few weeks or so...hope you are all happy and blessed! We miss you!




Advertisement



8th July 2008

you are too funny
I continue to enjoy your blog. Keep them coming.

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb