Parc National des oiseaux du Djoudj


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Saint-Louis Region
January 8th 2005
Published: January 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I'm still in St-Louis, relaxing. Yesterday I took a day trip to the National Park for birds at Djoudj. It is one of the most important bird sanctuaries in the world. Over 3 million birds migrating south from Europe stop at the Parc National des oiseaux du Djoudj.



I organised a tour with a guide who works for the National Park. His English was non existent, but he spoke slowly and repeated things when I didn't understand. As a result I followed everything he was saying in French. The park was well worth a visit, if not cheap. I had to get up early to visit, as I met my guide at 8am. So, I didn't get a chance to say goodbye to the other travellers. They didn't go to the park as it was too expensive for them, and they had left for Dakar by the time I returned to Saint-Louis. So, I'll be travelling on my own again for a while.



At the park there were a very large number of birds and I also saw other wildlife such as wild boar and crocodiles. My camera is not really that good for wildlife photography, so although I took pictures of the crocodiles, they weren't worth publishing. Some of the pictures of the birds though I will attach to this blog.



Today there is a festival in Saint-Louis - so I intend to stay for that, and leave for Dakar on Sunday morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.384s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 31; qc: 145; dbt: 0.1908s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb