My final thoughts on Senegal?


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Lower Casamance
November 18th 2008
Published: January 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After almost 4 weeks in Senegal I knew it was time to move to Mali even though I left feeling that I could have stayed in the Casamance region another month. I found Casamance to be amazing and the people to be very genuine. However, my first 10 days in Northern Senegal I felt some of the strongest culture shock I have experienced in all of my travels. Some days the smells, foreign language, begging and rough transport made me want to leave West Africa or stay in my hotel. I did not expect this since I had already spend 6 months in Africa previously. However, I had an easy introduction to Africa when I started my first adventure with South Africa. Things would have been easier if I had started in Ghana, but glad to get the shock over with and settle into West Africa. I am writing this with a over a month having passed so I can confirm that after my first week in Mali I began to quite feel comfortable in West Africa and happy to be here. After the first 2 weeks here I wondered almost everyday if I had made the right choice to spend over 3 months in West Africa.

I have many good memories of Senegal. I'm appreciative of the friends I made in Casamance. I really enjoyed the food and loved that I could eat fresh fish in Senegal everyday. Isle Goree offered a pleasant break from the city life of Dakar. I was surprised to see that the country has such a strong Muslim presence, but could have figured that out with more research. After 4 weeks I had seen no rain and almost everyday was clear skies which made me miss the changes in climate I can experience at home. I would love to return to Cap Skirring and the other islands of Casamance. I am hoping the transport will be improved when I return, but not counting on it. I also wonder what my impressions would be if I had visited last on the my instead of it being the first country. Senegal is definitely a country worth visiting!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb