On a deserted tropical beach!


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Lower Casamance » Cap Skirring
June 19th 2009
Published: June 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So these couple days on the beach are turning out quite nicely, as the beach is beautiful and deserted. Plus mango season is on! This means I can have my fill of mangoes, while trying not to get hit by them as they fall from the trees! Babaka’s friend, Simon is very helpful and has shown me all around and introduced me to many of his friends and “family”. I can’t seen to avoid eating five meals a day as everyone is so hospitable. They are also mostly Christians, which means pigs running around and booze sold more readily, although the Senegalese seem to be the laisser faire Muslims (as Al would say).

I’m actually staying in Babaka’s place in Kabrosse, which is where he lives when he works here during the tourist season. His hut is very “authentic” --- a tin (or zinc?) roof, concrete floor, intermittent power and a bucket shower ’round back. All is good, plus I can use the facilities at the luxury resort next door!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb