Starting 2010 in Senegal


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Kaolack Region
January 11th 2010
Published: January 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Before coming to Africa I bought a camera and spent time to get to know how to operate it. Before landing my camera was taken from a bag. (Long story, not as dumb as it sounds). I filed a claim with Delta airlines, and, MUCH to my amazement, they sent a check (so they did not see it as totally my fault). So I now have a new camera, which I am learning to use.

Because of my end of year trip I had cancelled a class with "my" United Nations people. The day we resumed they told me of a surprise they had planned as an expression of appreciation. We all went to dinner and after eating they gave me a beautiful outfit. Pictures enclosed on the blog. Last Friday I also got some pictures of some of the students at 10000 Girls. On Fridays everyone is in Sunday best since it is the Muslim religious day—even tho it is a school and work, in the morning at least.

Promises of getting the program for which I came to do teacher training are slowwwwly being fulfilled. January is for more planning; in February I can inch forward (it is the end of the semester with exams for students) then March and April will be the real activity. In May it should wind down, and I will leave June or July. Since I have other ways I keep busy it is working out. I expect some more visiting in Senegal and I will enjoy as opportunities come along. I hear of major celebrations for a local mosque in February and possible outings within Senegal. All good to me.

Other cool coincidences. At the site of English class with 10000 Girls I met a friend of the program founder. She lives down the street from my church in Miami and knew several members. With another gadget that was new to me, we made calls to some. The Magic Jack allows calls to any phone from a phone connected to the internet. (It costs about $40 which covers first year of use; $20 thereafter). A few days later I met a young woman who goes to the same college as my nephew. When I described him she could remember him. She is here to do community service work which fits the college curriculum.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Kids in KaolackKids in Kaolack
Kids in Kaolack

This girl with the beautiful smile was carrying baby on her back, picked up crying toddler, has another child close behind.
CookingCooking
Cooking

The cook who makes delicious meals this way every day.


11th January 2010

Thanks for sharing Yanick.
11th January 2010

Wonderful
Yanick This seems so natural and inspiring. Continue to share the blessing that you are. Peace and Happy New You Rev. Ray
12th January 2010

Starting 2010 in Senegal
Well it's been a while since I saw you last. The picture of you is refreshing. Nothing has changed. Glad to know that you are getting closer to begin the reason you went there for, but in the meantime you know to enjoy yourself and take life and all of its lessons ONE DAY AT A TIME. Burnie
18th January 2010

Starting 2010 in Senegal
Good to see you Yanick. Your new outfit is beautiful and you look good in it! It's GREAT to want to be a blessing to others. It's even better when those you feel you've blessed feel like-wise and recognize you for it. Well done good and faithful servant, well done. Keep up the good work. Jackie
18th January 2010

Beautiful
Hello Yanick, I am behind in my emails because most nights when I get home after being on the computer all day I have had enough. Yanick, I love your outfit it is beautiful it fits you perfectly. It is great to hear that you will be starting your teacher training program this month. Maybe this little delay was meant to be. You had the opportunity to help so many other groups and learn maybe more about the people and custom of Senegal. Great photographs everything is so colorful even the wash basins. Thanks for sharing. Be blessed. Constance
21st January 2010

Pictures
It is so good to see you have adapted to your new life. The pictures are great and it is good to be able to link the pictures with your wonderful stories. I love this technology and glad we can keep in touch! Much love Angie T.

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb