FEELING EARTHQUAKE IN HAÏTI


Advertisement
Senegal's flag
Africa » Senegal » Kaolack Region » Kaolack
January 17th 2010
Published: January 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The flutter of a butterfly's wings has effects thousands of miles away. The damage done by the natural disasters of recent years is increasingly familiar with media access. When something hits home, there is an extra impact. The house where I lived for five years, where I raised my children, and where my father grew up, is gone. It had solid walls about 20 inches thick (always cool no matter the weather). Even buildings must have some flexibility. Whatever cannot "give" will fall down when shaken. That's a profound point for everything in life. This life is short; we must go with the flow and live fully, not sweating the small stuff—yet appreciating the little things.

Within a few minutes of the earthquake in Haiti on January 12th I saw the announcement online. This was a mixed blessing. Having fast communication for the good things is wonderful. Would it be better not to have the bad news? Of course, that is not a solution. The technology that made me aware of the seriousness also brought some reassurance. I was able to call my daughter to ask her to see what she could find out about our family. While my family was spared from the worst, things are very bad.

Since most of the media has given horrific details, I have had to ration how much I follow to avoid feeding the negative energy. Distance and feeling helpless are hard, but if I were home in Florida, there is little I could realistically do. From Africa I can pray, look for the snippets of good, and know that God is still in charge. Technology is again bringing good, with record charitable giving, thanks to text-messaging, Facebook, and person to person encouragement. With little outside help available for the early days, neighbors have helped each other. One report was of a man who just went to the hospital to sit with those who had no one to comfort them.

Thank you to those who have sent me messages of concern and those whose thoughts and devotional time included prayers. I believe that every one of those makes a difference. Please continue your prayers and compassion.

A verse from the Bible came to me from a story of early disciples.

"Suddenly there was an earthquake, so violent that the foundations of the prison were shaken; and immediately all the doors were opened and everyone’s chains were unfastened." Acts 16:26

This was a very different situation. The similarity is the hope for the future, even when circumstances seem dire.


Advertisement



18th January 2010

GOD BLESS HAITI
Hello Yanick, good to hear that your family survived the quake. My prayers are with you during this time of adjustment and thank you for the afirmining that God is in charge and I do believe this is a time of renewal, and rebuilding. I see a better Haiti and we know that this too shall past. Much love. Thanks for your ability to keep in touch. Angie T.
22nd January 2010

In our prayers
Yanick, Please know that you, your family and all of HAITI is in our prayers daily.

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 57; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb