Kigali at last


Advertisement
Rwanda's flag
Africa » Rwanda » Ville de Kigali » Kigali
June 25th 2012
Published: June 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It's an awful long flight from Auckland to Kigali but it all passed without incident and I landed about 11.00am this morning. Kigali airport is small, almost quaint, but it all runs well. My pack had been checked right through from Auckland and it came trundling off the conveyor like it hadn't been gone more than a minute. I grabbed some Rwandan francs from an ATM at the airport but after 25 hours in transit my brain wasn't up to much so got 30,000 RwF. sounds like a lot, but is only about US$60. Got a taxi from the stand outside the gate for the standard fare of 10,000 Rwf. The guy drove like an absolute lunatic but so does everyone else around here so got his number so he can take me out to the Genocide Memorials as Ntarama & Nyamata tomorrow. Got to the Auberge la Caverne to find they didn't have my reservation. Good thing I brought photocopies of all of my e-mails. A room was soom found. Had a quick cleanup in the mildly lukewarm shower then caught a moto-taxi to the RDB to get my Gorllia Trekking Permit and a few maps etc, then another moto-taxi (motorcycle) back into the city centre and hit the union Trade centre to buy water etc and have a coffee at Bourbon Cafe (nice place). First impressions, Rwanda is not like the rest of Africa, at least the bits I've seen, its clean and fairly orderly and things seem to work

Advertisement



26th June 2012

Project Review
Excuse the title but its a tradition. Glad to see you arrived safely and are finding your way around. Nina and kids are about 30mins from the end of their journey and would already be in Sweden if not for a delay on the last flight to Arlanda. Finally got my quiet week at the office and quick as a flash I have no one to chat on the interweb with. Its cold and blustery back home so just as well the rest of us are about to spread our wings and migrate north. Have fun. R.

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb