Anne: I climbed a volcano!


Advertisement
Published: December 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So we made it to Musanze today for our volcano trek at the Parc national des volcans. I actually felt pretty safe while I was there (and hopefully I will feel the same way tomorrow for the gorilla trek). Might be because we were accompanied by 6 armed members of the RDF.

The Bisoke volcano is about 13,000 feet high, but we started at an altitude of 8,000 feet (Rwanda is high in the sky!) It took us 8 hours, but we made it to the top and back down again. It was cold and rainy at the summit, so no great pics came from that. Holy frigg it was a hard trek. Very physically demanding given that we hadn't really slept in 2 days, the high altitude we were at and no real breakfast or lunch (just protein bars). I am completely exhausted.

However, the guide was thoroughly impressed with my performance given that I come from a city that has no real altitude. He told me that Kili would be super easy for me, so hopefully he's right!

We have a nice hotel in Musanze - very comfortable and it has hot water!

More to come!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



10th December 2012

Sooooooo, did Tyson make it too?? Sounds like you left him behind somewhere lol! Oh! And I hope you have pics of the armed men! So happy you guys are there and having fun! :o)
11th December 2012

I Climbe a volcano
Thank God you have given me a clue of how the Parc national des volcans looks like. I was planing to organize a tour for my work mates at website designing and hosting Uganda, http://fox.co.ug, now i know what to do.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb