Reunion Island


Advertisement
Reunion's flag
Africa » Reunion » Reunion
April 3rd 2008
Published: March 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Saint DennisSaint DennisSaint Dennis

Saint Dennis.
On the sixth and last day, I returned the bike to Herve, but not before checking out some of the Creole architecture in Saint Dennis. I had a great time riding through some amazing scenery. While the roads may not have been up to the standards of the French roads on the continent, the scenery more than made up for any deficiencies. The little beemer again proved to be a perfect bike for riding tight island roads. Hopefully I’ll be able to test the new BMW 800 GS soon. I would have to grade Reunion as a solid A as a touring destination. Friendly people, challenging roads, good food, and stunning scenery.

Recap:

Time: 6 days
Distance: approximately 1000 km
Gendarme sightings: 2 (both times on motorbikes, both times going faster than me).
Puckers: 0
Bee stings: 1



Advertisement



13th May 2009

I agree with all you have said about the stunning dramatic scenery of the mountainous interior but you did not mention the excellent snorkelling and diving along some of the reefs around the coast. Not as extensive as Mauritius but still worth mentioning.
15th May 2009

Reunion Island
I wish I had more time to spend some beach time. The beaches did look inviting!

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb