Nigerians have a cure for Epilepsy...


Advertisement
Nigeria's flag
Africa » Nigeria » Logos
March 15th 2011
Published: March 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

or so they tell me... its a herbal remedy with magic spells... hmmm I dont think so and most of them dont beleive it either...

On driving into work Jane has been pointing out these incredible slums, Nigeria is very overcrowded and is filled with much poverty such as the rest of Africa therefore they build where they can. These slums are built on the water on a lagoon, they are huts built on stilts and this area is called Makako. Many fishermen and families from the country areas come to Lagos in the hope of finding their riches and a better life in Nigerias Oil Rich capital of Lagos; however this does not always happen for them, two out of three Lagos residents live in slums with no access to clean readily available water, electricity or waste disposal, in fact whilst on my course today I talked about fainting, one of the causes being lack of food, I said maybe if someone hadnt eaten all day then they may faint - especially in this heat, one gentleman piped up and said " I dont know, I can go two or three days without eating, as long as my children get food" wow that shut me up for a few moments - then I moved on not really sure what to say.

On the Makako Lagoon the fishermen are in canoes with makeshift sails, made from flour or rice bags, they are catching fish in the dirty water. disease and malaria is rife through this makeshift town that even the police are too scared to enter - I have added a picture that I havent taken but I have taken from the internet.

todays first aid session went well, the guys had great fun on the resus annie and they all seemed to get it right which is great! they had tons of questions which is brilliant and they are all enjoing getting involved, I have asked them to assist me with my Manual Handling presentation which they are looking forward to tommorow - im feeling confident about that now - so thats good

I have added some pictures of me with the team and Annie and also some resus pics, there are also some commute pictures for a giggle too

hope you are all well

Lisa


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb