Life in Overdrive


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Windhoek
October 16th 2008
Published: October 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I’m having a really good time in Namibia. I met another Canadian intern and we were talking about how lucky we are to be in Windhoek. A lot of interns have been sent to small remote towns and villages while the two of us are sitting pretty in a big city, shopping, hitting up restaurants, cafés, and concerts. I really am not for want here. Everything I need, I can find in terms of shopping. All the familiar brands are available. I’ve had harder times finding items such as toiletries, food items, shoes, etc… in bigger cities like Istanbul and Quito. Here, Windhoek is all about convenience.

I live in the suburbs and it costs a flat rate of NAM $7.50 (about CAN $1.00) to take a taxi to town. Taxis are not private vehicles here. They don’t leave until they are packed full. Namibian taxis live up to the global reputation of taxi drivers everywhere as being fucking crazy! In Namibia, people call taxis Kudus, which are a type of antelope notorious for jumping in front of vehicles and causing horrible accidents. Taxis are always looking for potential fares. You cannot walk down the street without at a taxi honking at you and if you make the slightest acknowledgment of that honk, that taxi slams the breaks, throws it in reverse and pulls over to where you’re standing, whether you wanted him to or not. It’s pretty ridiculous, but hey when you actually do need a taxi, it’s pretty convenient.

The taxis may be crazy, but otherwise traffic here is pretty tame and orderly. They drive on the left side (or the wrong side as I like to call it). It funny how traffic rules are buried in our subconscious. It’s been six weeks and I still look the wrong way when I cross the street. Yes this has definitely made for some near death experiences, but even that hasn’t jogged my brain into understanding that the cars are coming on the left. I need to get this straight so I can rent a car and drive without turning into oncoming traffic. I’ve been practicing when I go to the grocery store, with my buggy up and down the aisles. I find it actually helps.

Namibians love their cars…….like luuuurve them. With that, Namibians hate walking…..like haaaaaate it. Maybe I’m the stupid one walking under the incredibly hot sun, but for Namibians walking is to be avoided at all costs. If it comes to a point where walking cannot be avoided, then giant detours to remain in the shade must be taken at all times. The truth is you need a car in Namibia. It is a sprawling country with a widely spread population living in a harsh, unforgiving climate. Conclusion: As suspected, I am the stupid one.


Advertisement



28th October 2008

What did you look and couldn't find in Istanbul?

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb