Greetings from Windhoek - capital of Namibia


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Windhoek
October 2nd 2008
Published: October 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi y'all. The blog is falling by the wayside, there is soooo much to see and do here in Southern Africa that blogging is the last thing on my mind....this prob means all my entries will be out of order when I do get round to updating it properly, but just wanted to update you on my overlanding to date...

There's 22 of us on this part of the trip, although a few leave us tomorrow and some join. Currently in Windhoek, the capital of Namibia. We're all getting on really well, it's a young crowd and are being looked after by Errol (cook and driver) and Brenton (tour guide). Great banter. I've survived camping for the last 12 days...which is quite a challenge as I've been sharing my tent with Ulf, a rather good looking 28 year old German guy who drinks even more than me 😊

I'm getting used to living out of my backpack...although it is already covered in dust. Our truck is great - really comy and nice and high up to spot all the wildlife. We're being well fed too thanks to Errol...soooo much meat though. Had ostrich fillet a few nights ago - yum!

Didn't spend long in South Africa, but will do when we get back down there next month. Namibia has been AWESOME. Highlight has been my first ever skydive!!!!!! Yup, I chucked myself out of a plane at 10,000 ft up in the air, mad or what???? Strapped to a good looking skydiving instructor I screamed by head off for 39 seconds of freefall then enjoyed floating through the clouds down to the ground. I really can't put into words what it felt like....the noise, the pressure, the views, the stomach doing somersaults (not helped by being out drinking until 4am the night before and drinking whisky???!!). I have a dvd of my jump which I shall bore you all with when I get back. I'll hopefully upload some of the photos soon too.

As for the animals...well, we arrived in Etosha National Park a few days ago and within 10 minutes of driving through the park (not on an official game drive, just driving to the campsite) we saw zebras, springboks, elephants and lions - AMAZING!!! Anyway, I'll write this all up properly when I get to Livingstone or Joburg.

Change of plan too, I no longer need to get from Livingstone to Joburg by myself. Although GAP cancelled that part of the trip, the driver still needs to get the truck back to Joburg so he's offered to let me join him...seen as we have good banter and he's quite cute it would be rude not to take him up on his offer 😉

Bi 4 now,
Shons

Advertisement



2nd October 2008

Hello!!!
Hey Shona! I'm looking after JB this week (for my sins!!) and noticed the update email sent to his inbox so took a sneaky peek! Sounds like you're having a wonderful time, I'm so pleased for you! Nothing new to report here - well nothing as exciting as your news anyway! Would you mind adding me to your distribution list - that way I'll receive all your updates. Look forward to seeing your photos too!! Take care. Angela xx
7th October 2008

Neilz Notez
Hi Shonagh, Our friends in NZ have recently visited Namibia and loved it! Ian is a great photographer (arty) he sent us some amazing sureal landscapes from Namibia. It will be good to see you in NZ the "land of the long white cloud" (Aotearoa) love Neil and Jean

Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0749s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb