HELLO reliable internet connection!


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Windhoek
August 7th 2008
Published: August 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Goeters and IGoeters and IGoeters and I

Goeters and I on a sleepout
Hello everybody
Well, I am back at the chameleons lodge. Leaving Harnas was so sad and everybody was crying I have memories and friends that I think will last a lifetime. So... I am trying to attach some pictures to this email via my lovely wolverine that is working wonderfully thank you mat!

I don't even know how to explain everything that I experienced at Harnas Luckily I kept a journal the whole time so maybe when I get home and am not paying for internet I can put some more detailed experiences down. But, just to be brief today... It is SO hands on there.

I touched EVERYTHING! And it was so amazing to bond with the animals. I had three favorite "enclosures" Cleo and Pride were two cheetahs that I absolutely loved and slept out with (also slept with Goeters) and they were amazing. I think I am the only person I know in Wisconsin who can say they woke up to a cheetah pouncing on their head and then licking their face until it was raw! (While Jenna laughed histarically at my expression). Next is the five baby (well... not really baby anymore they are like
cleo and pridecleo and pridecleo and pride

me with cleo and pride on a cheetah walk
2 years now) baboons who we overcame our fear of and took for "walks" and eventually even got the courage to go in the enclosure with them. Probabley the only person in wisconsin who can also say a baboon force french kissed me and also decided he loved to go up my shirt and try to undo my bra too! Then lastly Indie and Easter a mom and baby vervet monkey who were so sweet.... those were my favorites while I was there but of course there is so many I just loved them all!

Tour was very scarey, Deidre and I had to protect a tourist while we went in the wilddog enclosure (note it was our first time in with them) with nothing to protect ourselves with! And then going in with the 21 wild cheetahs to feed on tour and all you have is a stick while you are sitting on a meat wagon and they are all trying to jump on and you have to keep them off. Frikkie had me get off the wagon to pick up the pieces they had missed and then toss them to them again, it was so scarey!
zion and frikkiezion and frikkiezion and frikkie

picture I took on the lion walk zion(3yrs) frikkie (63 yrs)

Anyways, enough for today I guess I am just going to try to attach some photos now... more to come either later today or tomorrow!

Love you all and miss you!



Advertisement



8th August 2008

Nice Pics
Nice pictures you have there. Can't wait to see the rest. This is going to be short because I emailed you earlier today so won't be long. The cheetahs look cool though. While you were on your sleep out did they pee on you like you read they would? You probably won't say even if they did would you. Love you, Mat

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 34; dbt: 0.0343s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb