Day 12: Swakopmund


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Swakopmund
August 23rd 2012
Published: November 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Today I had a realtive sleep in as we weren't moving camp today so I didn't have to pack up anything. WOOHOO! I had to be ready about 8am to go fishing for the morning. I assumed I was going on a charter boat, but it turns out it wasn't. I ended up on a small commercial boat where a group of guys go out with rods (no commercial equipment) and just sell what they catch. It was a really different experience to what I expected. They obviously weren't set up as a tourist boat, but the owner did his best to make sure I was ok, and the crew always made sure I was good to go before anyone of the crew were ready. Over 4 hours we caught about 120 fish, mostly catfish, but we also caught some kob and a couple of sharks, one of which was about 1.5m long.

Once I returned the rest of the afternoon was spent realxing back at the hostel. I had a couple of beers with Ray and his uncle (not really his uncle, it's just a term of respect he uses with people), spent some time emailing home and ended up watching my skydive video with Anita and a few others from the group. I was happy they used Metallica as backing music, but they also used Katy Perry. I don't know where they got the idea that those 2 artists would go well together. Funnily enough, as I was getting ready to go out for dinner, another truck pulled up to the hostel. One of the girls on the truck, Charissa, was my room mate on the very first night I was in Cape Town, and coincedently, she also knew Ray. Small world.

For dinner we ended up going to the Swakopmund Brauhaus, a German styled restaurant. I ordered the Schweinebraten, which Sebastian told me was the closest thing I could get to pork knuckle; my favourite meal from my Europe trip. It did taste similar, and came with dumplings and sauerkraut, but the size just didn't match up to the massive meal I had in Germany. I guess I can't complain given I am in Africa. The beers were very good though, and to be honest, all the beer so far has been very good, much better than I expected.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0864s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb