Spitzkoppe. I love this place!


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Spitzkoppe
August 11th 2009
Published: August 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We were lucky enough to camp in Spitzkoppe. I hope the pictures can give you a glimpes of the natural beauty here.

We arrived around 3pm and we rushed to climb the gigantic rocks before sunset. A small group of us treked up the mountain of rocks and had a fun time goofing off.

After sundown, we had a big bonfire under the night sky full of stars. It's so amazing to look up and see every single dusting of stars and the Milky Way. In Africa, seeing the Milky Way is now normal for me. I'll never see this back home, that's for sure. During the bonfire, one girl on the trip played her guitar and sang. She has a beautiful, soothing voice. It was a very calming night. I was sad to leave this place!

As we left the next morning, our truck got stuck in the sand! YES!!! I was excited. We all got out and pushed. Now I feel like my overland trip is complete!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

BreakfastBreakfast
Breakfast

Our typical breakfast setting.
Our truck got stuck!Our truck got stuck!
Our truck got stuck!

All of us pushing...well, except me. I was too busy taking pictures. tee hee!


12th August 2009

thanks
Thanks, Jen, for including us in your blog updates. I am so loving what you are able to do. You do, however, look like you've lost weight. I'm guessing you don't always have the best and biggest meals. Continue to savor every moment of the trip.

Tot: 0.216s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb