The Most Amazing Thing


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Rundu
December 1st 2013
Published: December 1st 2013
Edit Blog Post

IMG_0449IMG_0449IMG_0449

My class team won the science debate. Mr. Simubale coached them the night of the debate. I was away at the last WT in-service and didn't get to see it. My favorite kids: L-R Regina, Michael, Immanuel, Justiana with Mr. Simubale in the middle.
Hello, Everyone,

I saw the most amazing thing I have ever seen last night. The learners went home yesterday, so we are all free for the weekend. We were in our flat playing cards with some friends (first time ever in Namibia, we played a game called "Take Two") Anyway, it rained all day yesterday, so we had the doors open getting the cool breeze.

We had the porch lights on, but our kitchen light is very bright. I noticed a bug flying around. Suddenly there were more and more of them. We closed the door but they kept coming in under the door. So I put books along the bottom of the front door and a garbage bag and some cans of food to hold it next to the back door. But there were tons of them inside. They look sort of like little worms with these big gossamer wings. (I'll have to look up gossamer to make sure that is right.) I don't know if all of you have seen the Harry Potter films, but it was like the scene in the first movie where all those little things were flying around and he had to find
IMG_0455IMG_0455IMG_0455

The Debate Winners' "Trophy"
the one with the key. They were just everywhere. I got so fascinated, I wasn't nervous at all.

But . . ., the most amazing is that they are too heavy for their wings. They have wings like a dragonfly, four pieces, but a different shape. They survive for maybe an hour. They want the light, but soon they start to fly lower and lower and eventually their wings fall off. Then you have little worms running on the floor. Those we swept out. It was incredible. Outside on the porch there was just a deep pile of wings.

Ervina said they are a good snack that they eat. They somehow deep fry them and call them "chips." When Loide and Winnie went home, Winnie found deep piles in her flat, so they bagged them up and Ervina is going to try to cook them today. I'm curious how it will go, although I don't really want to eat one.

This morning I went out to sweep the porch and when i swept the wings off the porch they were picked up by a gentle breeze and just blew away. I took a picture which I will
IMG_0465IMG_0465IMG_0465

Our secretary's little girl and the chief Matron's little girl. Did you ever see anything so cute?
try to attach, but I don't think you will get the full effect. It was just so incredible and interesting, I wanted to tell you all. I'm going to try to google to see if I can find the name.

The 8th grade classes take a class called Life Science. Part of it is learning to grow a vegetable garden. Friday was the day they harvested, then they sold what they had grown. My 8C had grown some lovely spinach, a little different from ours. I had to cook it, but Ervina told me a good way to do it. I had also bought some carrots. They were quite little--looked like the carrots Phil grew in his table garden. Anyway, I threw them in and had yummy "Spinach with Carrots" for dinner. I still have some spinach, so I am going to do a spinach omelette tonight!

I leave school Wednesday, two days in Rundu, weekend in Windhoek, the off to NYC. I'll see some of you soon, others later, but the travel bug has bitten me. Thanks for all your supportive comments over the year. I cannot express adequately how much it helped to get them.

Love, Wendy

Advertisement



1st December 2013

OMG!!!
I can't believe you'll be home soon!!! Your kids must have been very sad to say goodbye to you, W!! But we will all be very glad to say hello & to welcome you home
1st December 2013

Congratulations!
Wendy, congratulations on your class winning the science award, and for a successful year in Namibia. That us quite an accomplishment! I know you are coming home to us a different person than the one who left. What life-changing experiences you've had! When do you arrive in Anchorage? I leave for Nepal on Jan. 6th., returning Feb. 22. Travel safely. Love, Jay
1st December 2013

amazing wendy
Wendy, I loved your description of the flying worms (soon to be fried chips). We've missed you but have also so appreciated that you took the time to keep us informed and entertained with this wonderful blog. I can't wait to hear about your next adventure. Until then, safe travels.
1st December 2013

Meals on Wings
Wendy-- Amazing story to end your blogs. How did they taste? Welcome back to food additives with long chemical names. Loved all your blogs--have a safe trip home--so look forward to seeing you!
2nd December 2013

Fascinating
That was wonderfully descriptive. I felt like I was there. Safe travels and a Blessed Advent!
2nd December 2013

What a metaphor in this little tale! Travel safely. Enjoy delightful holidays. We'll greet you with delight wherever we find you next!! Love, Guy
2nd December 2013

Safe Travels!
Hi Wendy, Have a safe journey home. It will be great to see you in person and hear more about your adventures! Being bitten by the travel bug is a very good thing! Love, Mary
4th December 2013

Welcome home!
I know you will be glad to return to Alaska -- prepare yourself -- has been below zero already this winter, but due to warm by this coming weekend. You will be arriving just as I am leaving -- I want to hear about your journey. I think this adventure has been fabulous for you -- as it would be for all teachers. I have truly enjoyed your blog -- found it interesting and insightful; I have learned much from them. Take care and Happy Holidays upon your return. Deborah
5th December 2013

I am so proud of you - and envious!
Hi Wendy, I found your blog a bit ago. I heard you had made a major life choice by going to Africa to teach. How amazing! I hope to see you again when you arrive back in Anchorage:) Robin

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb