Back Again the Same Week


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Rundu
September 21st 2013
Published: September 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

IMG_0325IMG_0325IMG_0325

Our neighbors in the back. Their whole field of maize just died standing there. This is from our back balcony.
Surprise, Surprise, only three days later. I did get up to go to the store early today and was triply lucky. The cash machine was working, there was a breeze, and several teachers had the same idea so I got a ride home.

Today was a lovely day. Really, the breeze makes all the difference. I actually walked briskly to the store. Usually I do the Africa stroll, which is not really any sort of exercise except for being longer in the sun melting.

We watched Akeelah and the Bee tonight for the Saturday night entertainment. I had never seen it and quite enjoyed it. But the kids!! At first they were clapping and for too long, so we were trying to shush them so people could hear. But by about halfway, they were shushing each other and really getting into it. And I must confess that I really like movies with happy endings. Especially practically impossible happy endings. The kids really clapped and cheered at the end.



Dorena, my children's lit. expert, who was the fantasy writer you recommended to me for my kids years ago? I can tell you exactly where they were in
IMG_0326IMG_0326IMG_0326

Beyond the brick wall, the brown is the soccer field for the village school that I mentioned. Kids' laundry on the fence.
the library, but can't for the life of me remember the name. A woman--Carolyn maybe, Ellis maybe. I think they had dragons. I've bought Susan Cooper, Lloyd Alexander, Madeleine L'Engle, and C.S. Lewis for the library (thanks to CARTA ladies), but the kids really like fantasy and Stephen Krashen says they should read easy books. So I need more. It is a joy to watch these kids devour the library. I like to take some credit for that. I keep pushing and pushing for letting them have some time to read for pleasure. Next week the other English teachers have insisted we have them do a book report, so I am trying to figure out how to keep them separate. I am toying with Louis L'Amour, but I'm not sure that western stuff would be fun for them. Any suggestions are welcome.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

IMG_0329IMG_0329
IMG_0329

This is the view from our front porch. All brown. Some goats ran through as I was taking it, but I missed them.
IMG_0328IMG_0328
IMG_0328

They tried to plant trees for the President's visit. Out of eight, I think two are still alive.
IMG_0330IMG_0330
IMG_0330

This is from our hostel looking over the wall to the "boys' side".


22nd September 2013

Sustained Silent Reading
Hi Wendy! So enjoy your posts--keep them coming! Nice to hear of students who enjoy reading and devour books. Appreciated the CARTA comment; good to know the money is well used. Thanks. Remember when we had SSR (Sustained Silent Reading) at BHS? I loved that and so did my students. The ones who did not like it in the beginning, learned to like it as time went on. The whole school stopped all activity and everyone--including the principal--read for 20 minutes (no homework--just reading for pleasure). It was great! At least you could try planting that seed. You are having quite an adventure. I really admire you! As for me...I/HHN attended two international conferences in June in Lisbon. One was a World Water Summit. Learned tons about water, sanitation, and toilets; HHN is doing more in these areas. Second was the Rotary International Convention where I got to meet Jane Goodall and heard Il Divo in concert. The people who make fortified peanut butter (to fight child malnutrition) had a booth there. It has an 80% success rate. Nepal needs this so I will look into starting a factory to make this product when I return in January. Take care, dear Wendy, and keep educating us through your posts. Love, Jay
23rd September 2013

Jack London?
We read him in 8th grade. The setting would be completely different, but it's where you come from!
24th September 2013

Response to photos
Hi Wendy, The area has much less vegetation than I imagined. Book ideas, things like the Oz books, Jules Vern, Raul Dahl, even Harry Potter? Love reading your blogs! They are so fortunate to have you on their team. What a grand adventure. In Anchorage we have had our first dusting of snow--IN SEPTEMBER! The leaves are still turning so don't expect Fall to give up so easily. I've been promising myself to Skype but haven't gotten organized to do it yet. Did you get word that Rev. Connie died the end of August? CARTA is looking forward to your report in Feb. I believe. Think I may be in Tanzania just at that moment. I'll see the animals, but you are really getting to know the people. You exude enthusiasm for what you are doing--what a great decision to teach there a year. If you extend I'll understand--you are really doing something that makes a difference. Love, Nancy
24th September 2013

Every one of these images eloquent as libraries of prose

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb