Driving through the desert and being a numpty


Advertisement
Namibia's flag
Africa » Namibia » Kalahari
November 23rd 2008
Published: December 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We had a really long drive through the desert today, but what beautiful scenery it was! We are bush camping tonight and arriving at our spot it looked like it could be used to film the moon landings here it was so desolate. The sunset was gorgeous and we made an 'Africa' sign out of people in front of it, I took photos and it looks like it came out well. It was on this occasion that I received my first, and only numpty nomination.

Everyday on the trip after we have eaten our evening meal we get nominate each other for the numpty award, basically anything anyone has done or said that is completely stupid can be nominated and the winner of the numpty from the night before gets to choose who to pass it onto. The current numpty award is a babys dummy on a strong which must be worn around the neck of the person who wins it for the next 24 hours. If that person is caught not wearing it it earns them another 24 hours of wearing it. It must be on display at all times and you can imagine the questions you get from people when they see it.

So .... until now I had escaped without an nomination. I like to think because I haven't said/done anything stupid yet, but its most likely that there just hasn't been anyone around to witness and remember it. Whilst everyone was getting into the 'Africa' set up said to the people who were forming an 'A' that they needed to move to the left of the line as they were the first letter. They said that actually they were the last letter but I was adamant they should be at the beginning, Africa begins with an 'A' I said. That's when everyone laughed at me and pointed out that it also ends in an 'A'. Oopps. Luckily for me James our tour leader did something more stupid that day and he won the award. Phew!

Unfortunately it was a little cloudy tonight which meant that we couldn't see the stars. It was a shame as I am sure they would have been amazing out here in the middle of the desert. It is freezing cold tonight and I am having to wear lots of clothes to bed, and get in my sleeping bag where as I usually sleep on top of it! It is quite nice to be cold for a change though!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb