My trip around Morocco!


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco
June 1st 2008
Saved: February 23rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

ZagoraZagoraZagora

Riding Camels in the Sahara
Morocco was pretty amazing. Unlike nothing I've ever seen or been to! It was really fun, going to another French speaking country. I loved the mountains. The people were very friendly whenever my friends would open their mouths and say their American, which I wasn't use to having lived in Europe for the past year. So it was nice to hear "welcome to our country" with a friendly smile. The tea and orange juice there was spectacular. I didn't drink the water because I did this in the Dominican Republic and got sick, so now I'm paranoid about drinking any sort of tap water anywhere, haha. But I did eat anything and everything (vegetarian ofcourse), and I was fine. I loved Moroccan salads! The drive down to Zagora took us about 8 hours. And while we drove there, it was amazing. The scenery was amazing. I will add more photos once I get stable internet. The people are super nice and helpful and friendly everywhere, but beware you will be ripped off, unless there is a fixed price tag you ALWAYS have to bargain for less than half the price they originally ask for, and even so you are still over
STOP SignSTOP SignSTOP Sign

in Arabic.
paying. Shopping is more of a task than leisure there. Also, harassing is common for women who aren't covered up. I must say that annoyed me the most. Driving back at night through windy valleys and sand storms was quite an adventure. By the time the sun creeped out, only 3 out of 4 brakes were functioning and the mountains had no guardrails. 60 kilometres from Marrakesh, while driving at 10 k/h our wheel popped off and rolled down the mountain. Luckily, a friendly Berber came to our help and drove us back to Marrakesh. I still laugh when I think about how I jumped out of the moving car thinking it was going to fall down the mountain... It's one of those stories where you had to be there to believe it, because words cannot describe what an adventure that was!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

The Gardens of MarrakeshThe Gardens of Marrakesh
The Gardens of Marrakesh

Majorelle Gardens.. Designed by Yves Saint Laurent
MosqueMosque
Mosque

Prayer time @ Sunset
MonkeyMonkey
Monkey

Briana with a monkey this man placed on her.
TeaTea
Tea

Best Tea in Morocco.
Marrakesh HostelMarrakesh Hostel
Marrakesh Hostel

Peter taking in some sun and ciggs on the terrace of our really nice but overpriced hostel in Marrakesh :)
TownsTowns
Towns

A picture of one of the towns we drove through...
WomenWomen
Women

Muslim.
High Atlas'High Atlas'
High Atlas'

Beautiful Scenery ...


Comments only available on published blogs

2nd June 2008

very nice picture les trip details
that's great adventure,and it good for you didn't have bad accident. thank you so much for your comment about morocco. it would so nice if you tell that on trip advisor as there are some tourits who lived bad experince mislead other new travellers. regarding the harassing, as you said it is so common, but it is never dangerous, be sure that less beautiful women nevr get that and men always avoid talking to them. unfortunately, you didn't go to merzouga dunes, the highest and most beautiful ones in morocco. on the picture , i recognize the dunes of Tamegrout south of zagora, these are smaller and not golden. anyway that's great. americans are so welcomed, or me , America is my second home after morocco, i travel there twice a year, attending fossil shows and visiting friends. i invite you to visit my website www.aroundmorocco.com and if you wish you can email me. good luck
2nd June 2008

Hey
Hey! Yeah, I could see how people would not feel comfortable in Morocco. However, You have to travel with an open mind every where you go. That's the whole point of traveling. I really wanted to go to Merzouga, but we were only in Morocco for 5 days, and we wanted to relax rather than hussle... It took us 8 hours and a few missing brakes to get to Zagora, imagine had we tried to get to Merzouga! Maybe next time... :-) Thanks for your comment!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb