Last day in Tangier


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Tangier-Tétouan » Tangier
October 23rd 2022
Published: October 25th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Our Morocco phase of the trip is almost at an end, we head to Spain tomorrow.
Today we woke to sounds of activity. From our balcony, you can see the beach and promenade, and last night we had seen that they were setting up for a sports event. Monica looked up online, and found out that there would be a triathalon. At 8am, we could already see things were happening, so after breakfast, we headed down to check it out.
The first race was an open one, and mainly had Moroccan participants. They had already finished up the swimming when we got down, but we saw the bike riding and the running. Then the women's event wasn't going to start til 11, and the men's at 1, so we decided we'd take a walk over to the market arrea for awhile, and come back to see the women's race.
I didn't want to be carrying stuff around for several more weeks, so I was just looking, not buying. We wandered for awhile, then headed back and watched the women's race. Then we went back up to the apartment for lunch.
After lunch, we spent a bit of time on the beach, then went for a walk along the beach. Then I headed back to get ready for church. I had found an non denominational church online that had an English service , Tangier International Protestant Church, so I turned to my trusty google maps ro show me the way, which was supposed to be a 25 min walk.
Google maps turned out to be not entirely accurate. She told me I was there, but I didn't see anything churchlike and the street numbers weren't marked on most of the buildings. I decided to sit on a step and keep my eye out for anyone that looked like they might be going.
In a few minutes, a car parked a bit down the street on the other side of the intersection, and a young white couple with little girl and baby started getting out. I scurried over and asked if they were going to church. They said yes, so I introduced myself and followed them- it ended up being in the next block from where Google maps had placed me.
It was a good service, fairly small, young congregation. Afterwards, there was a little social time with snacks outside. I stayed for a few minutes and chatted with the young mom that I had met before church, but I wanted to get back to the apartment before dark, so I headed out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb