Hiking in Chefchaouen


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Tangier-Tétouan » Chefchaouen
October 21st 2010
Published: October 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

This small town is beautiful... it is in a gully surrounded by mountains. The houses are painted blue and I've been lost many times in the small windy streets. It's actually well known for the production of Marijuana in the surrounding areas and I am constantly offered it on the streets. There are only a few of us (me included just to be clear!!!) in the hostel who don't smoke it... there are a lot of hippies here as you can imagine! I'm sleeping on the hostel roof-top terrace with a few others for only 40 Dh per night (approx $5).


I met a kiwi girl, Beni, yesterday. I was keen to do some walking here so when she mentioned she was doing one today I jumped at the chance! What she said would be a 2 or 3 hour leisurely stroll, turned out to be a strenuous hike! At some points we were using hands to balance ourselves up the steep ascent. We came across a few mountain huts and a few men herding goats. We even saw a some ladies walking donkeys packed high with branches! The views were gorgeous as you can imagine and we found a "road" on the walk back so it was much easier. All up I think we were gone about 4.5 hours and I really enjoyed it. Beni goes tomorrow so I'll have to find another keen walker. Goodness... I am not a creative writer!! Sorry!!! hahah. Only 5 weeks till I'm home!!

Advertisement



24th October 2010

Hiked it too
We also hiked beyond the Spanish mosque. There is a hiking track which is quite easy to follow. You don't have to crawl with your hands to move up. The hike over to the other side of the hill took about 2 hours or so. If you hiked a lottle further, you could see the sea. Altogether, with the hike down, it would cost you around 4 hours. Spectacular views no doubt!

Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb