Agadir, package tourist land


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Souss-Massa-Draâ » Agadir
December 20th 2004
Published: December 20th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Agadir  -  Beach sideAgadir  -  Beach sideAgadir - Beach side

Welcome to...America??? You fly thousands of miles for the same junk as you can get at home.
Yep, I'm in package tourist land! I got here last night at 6pm afer catching the bus from Essaouira at 2pm. So, I had all morning in Essaouira.



At the bus station I fell into the first hotel. I've gone down market again - 70 Dirhams a night with shared toilets and shower. I also booked my bus out of here.



I'll be catching the bus to Dakhla at 7pm tonight. The guy on the reception of my cheap hotel was very helpful, he told me that he thought that, that bus took 20 hours! He also then predicted my intended journey through West Africa without me telling him.



I had considered breaking the journey up, maybe stopping at Laayoune for a night. But then I thought, what the hell, get the pain over with!



The advantage of getting a bus from Agadir is that this town is a major transport hub for buses. The bus station has a large number of companies, going everywhere.



So, my next post will be from the Western Sahara. The Western Sahara is still part of Morocco, but I will
AgadirAgadirAgadir

You don't have to eat at Mcdonald's. This is one of a group of cheap restaurants to the north of the city in a square behind the bus station. It is also where all the cheapest hotels are clustered together.
refer to it as the Western Sahara as its status is contested. There is a UN administered ceasefire in the area. Part of the cease fire was a promise that elections would be held to determine the status of the area. They have yet to be held. You'll find more about the politics of the issue on the web if you care to look.



Once I'm in Dakhla it's still another 6 hour journey to the Mauritanian border.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

AgadirAgadir
Agadir

The beach. It is a very good beach and is well sheltered,so it is safe to swim in.


Tot: 0.551s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 33; qc: 137; dbt: 0.2716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb