Metropolitan Weekend


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaer » Rabat
April 15th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After my uncles and cousin left on Saturday to go back to their respective homes, I got back on the train again and rushed up to Rabat to play a softball game. Unfortunately the game was cancelled due to tightened security at the American School. As far as I know the Rabat American School has the only baseball diamond in Morocco. Anyway, people were understandably nervous about the bombings that have been happening in Casablanca and shut the school for the weekend. This was the first game I have ever heard of being called on account of terrorism.

But the upshot was I got to spend a bit of time being a tourist in Rabat. I didn’t have anybody to explain things to, which was just as well since I know very little about Rabat. But it was relaxing and a good closure to a long couple weeks out of my site.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Kings' TombKings' Tomb
Kings' Tomb

The tomb of the kings is beautiful and peaceful inside. I didn't try to take a photo, it just felt wrong. I never could take photos in churches or temples, much less a tomb.
Below the tower of HassanBelow the tower of Hassan
Below the tower of Hassan

It is a beautiful and very historic place. If you want to know more get a guide book, I'm on vacation from guiding.
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Jamal played tour guide for me so I could relax and follow sombody else around for a change. He was one of the counselors with me at spring camp.


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb