Managing in Meknes


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Meknès-Tafilalet » Meknes
May 7th 2006
Published: July 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Music Makes People SmileMusic Makes People SmileMusic Makes People Smile

I let this young girl use my MP3 player and listen to Christina Aguilera's BEAUTIFUL.
Caught the train from Fes...I was a bit hung over from having a few drinks at a nightclub the night before.

I arrived at the train station (already having purchased my ticket) and found two Aussie travelers having a caffe noir at the cafe immediately outside the station. I had 20 minutes to kill so I sat next to them and chatted. I found out they had recently been in Meknes and recommended the Touring Hotel which is right near the Meknes train station. They then mentioned they were heading back to Spain via Tangiers and thus gave me their Lonely Planet Morocco book (which was good as I was using my Lonely Planet Africa book which is not as indepth as the country-specific versions).

A quick one-hour train ride and I was in Menkes. As instructed, I took a room at the Touring Hotel and found it to be a bit run-down but my room (#17) had an AWESOME shower (dirty exposed piping but great pressure and hot water....which after the crappy showers in Fes was welcoming) and the shared toilet was just outside my door.

I took the rest of the day to tour the Medina
ArchesArchesArches

Much of Morocco is lined with archways. Here I look down the road where the Royal Golf Course is behind the wall on the right and the Medina is on the left.
section of the city and got lost a few times. Still a bit hung over, I called it an early night after making a few Yahoo calls to the United States.

I Woke the next day feeling great and took off for Volubilis by shared cab. Met two girls at the entrance to the ruins (they were speaking English so I walked up and introduced myself). One was American (livng in England) and the other was Portugese. In the company of the two girls, I strolled the scenic site taking in the breathtaking views of the surrounding Mouslay Idriss valley and hills. After spending the last few days in large cities and lost in the maze of narrow alleyways of the ancient Medinas, it was great to be in the serene outdoors of the Roman ruins of Volubilis. The ruins were amazing especially considering they are thousands of years old. The Romans sure knew how to build cities.

The girls gave me a lift back to Meknes in their hired cab and, after buying them and their driver lunch at a small outdoor cafe, I gave them a tour around the Medina of Meknes which I had walked
Vital FluidsVital FluidsVital Fluids

Water was a major problem in Morocco...so many of the markets and homes were built around these spouts.
the day before. The highlight for us was meandering through the indoor marketplace featuring fresh meats, spices, vegetables and live animals. They left in the late afternoon for Fez. That night, I took the Lonely Planets recommendation and ate dinner at Ouimas, a local home that was converted into a small restaurant. Yummy.

Off to Casa tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Bab el MasourBab el Masour
Bab el Masour

The major gate in Meknes, it was once the entrance to the Imperial Palace of Moudlay Ismail.
NougatNougat
Nougat

A street vendor sells his sweets...although I am sure they are a major reason for the poor dental quality of the Moroccan people.
My City's in RuinsMy City's in Ruins
My City's in Ruins

Part of the remains of the Roman city of Volubilis.
More RuinsMore Ruins
More Ruins

Here are columns that still remain...and make a great home for the large storks.
MosaicMosaic
Mosaic

One of the mosaics that remain in the ruins. It is the Man on Donkey Backwards.
On BroadwayOn Broadway
On Broadway

I stand on what was the major thoroughfare in Volubilis.
Guliver's TravelsGuliver's Travels
Guliver's Travels

Sara and Jennifer laugh as I barely fit in the front of the Mercedes taxi they hired to take them to Volubilis from Fes (but i was all smiles getting a free ride back to Meknes).
Bread MakersBread Makers
Bread Makers

Children deliver bread in the back alleyways of Moulay Idriss.
Moulay IdrissMoulay Idriss
Moulay Idriss

Overlooking the town from the terrace. We had to climbe over 150 steps to get up here. The green-roofed building in the front is the mausoleum for the Moulay.
Hey Sweet Thang!Hey Sweet Thang!
Hey Sweet Thang!

In the central in Meknes, a few vendors offer up remarkable sweets.
Martinis Ready?Martinis Ready?
Martinis Ready?

A vendor showcases his olives in the central market of Meknes.
All HeartAll Heart
All Heart

Now in the carnivor section of the market, here we find a heart for sale...a bit late for Valentine's day.
Lost HeadsLost Heads
Lost Heads

Another vendor showcases his lambs heads.
Pot for SalePot for Sale
Pot for Sale

This fabulous pot was for sale in a shop right outside the Meknes Medina.
Say FromageSay Fromage
Say Fromage

Sara (l) and Jennifer (r) put me in the middle for this roof-top shot in Meknes. Over our shoulders is the Old Mellah (or Jewish quarter).
Classic MoroccoClassic Morocco
Classic Morocco

These men clothed in traditional garb try and make their way across the street in Meknes.
"So Ronely...So Ronely""So Ronely...So Ronely"
"So Ronely...So Ronely"

I eat dinner alone at Cafe Ouima in Meknes. It is an actual home that they turned into a restaurant. As for the headline, it is not a typo...it is from Team America movie for those who didn't get it.
Hot Moroccan NightsHot Moroccan Nights
Hot Moroccan Nights

Actually, the nights are very cool here in Morocco this time of year. This is the view outside my hotel window as onlookers watch a football match which is on the television in the cafe.


10th July 2006

hahaha
Larry you massive rod! You need a montage, yeah! Loving the photos.. You passing thru UK at all? In edinburgh now but will be down in London from September, if you need a place to crash.. Safe

Tot: 0.352s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 34; qc: 166; dbt: 0.1948s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb