Meknes


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Meknès-Tafilalet » Meknes
December 12th 2004
Published: December 12th 2004
Edit Blog Post

MeknesMeknesMeknes

Mausoleum of Mouley Ismail.The Sultan who made Meknes his capital. This is one of the few Islamic Monuments in Morocco open to non Muslims. Obviously I couldn't take pictures inside, but believe me it was astonishing. If you are in Meknes this is a must see.
I am now in Meknes, it's much less hassle here. I almost miss the aggressive touts!



On the bus here, a young man practised his English by talking to me - which passed the time. He said he was studying English at college.



When I arrived I looked round 4 different Hotels in the Medina - all of them pretty dire. I finally took one for 40 Dirhams, it looked the nicest because it had at least been decorated recently. Although it has a very basic communal shower, and smelly communal squat toilets.



I walked around Meknes this afternoon, some of the photos are reproduced here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

MeknesMeknes
Meknes

Bab el-Monsour Gateway. The main entrance to Moulay Ismail's 17th Century Imperial City.
MeknesMeknes
Meknes

The Cedar Wood roof of Dar Jamai Museum. The Museum is a 19th Century Palace.
MeknesMeknes
Meknes

Dar Jamai Museum
MeknesMeknes
Meknes

Dar Jamai Museum
MeknesMeknes
Meknes

Dar Jamai Museum
MeknesMeknes
Meknes

Welder working in the backstreets of the Medina


Tot: 0.377s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 31; qc: 135; dbt: 0.1684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb