Azrou - Of Carpets and Monkeys...


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Meknès-Tafilalet » Azrou
April 7th 2006
Published: May 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Post sale mint teaPost sale mint teaPost sale mint tea

Abdullah and I hanging after the haggling...which I truly suck at...haha..
Hadn't originally planned on heading to Azrou, in fact I had never even heard of it. When the need to get out of Fès became so great I began researching other interesting places in the area and came upon this one. My original plan was to take the overnight bus from Fès to Merzouga and the Sahara (9 hour bus ride) but then decided to break up the journey a little...

Definitely a change of gears from Fès; fairly small, quiet (with the exception of the mulititude of car alarms going off incessantly in the parking lot outside my room..ugh...) and certainly more laid back...

The thing I noticed most by the end of my journey was the fact that I must have had "sucker" written across my forehead, and it all started here... Within five minutes of checking into my hotel I had purchased a carpet! Now I can't lay complete blame on the merchant, Abdullah, as this town is known for its Berber carpets and they were certainly my favourite of the lot, but now I had to carry it for the next three weeks... Fortunately it folded and rolled up to the point that I could
Hotel des CedresHotel des CedresHotel des Cedres

...where I meant to spend one day and ended up sick in bed for four...ugh...
fit it in my pack but it certainly added some weight...

His cousin Hassan then offered to take me hiking in the mountains, among the famous cedar forests to see the Barbary apes...and off we went... Great hike, the "apes" are actually monkeys but cool none the less... finished off with dinner at Hassan's....


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Bazar Berbere IIBazar Berbere II
Bazar Berbere II

Abdullah and the owner of des Cèdres, who came out of nowhere and wanted to be in the pic...who am I to argue? Haha..
Cedars IICedars II
Cedars II

Beautiful...
Bazar BerbereBazar Berbere
Bazar Berbere

The infamous carpet shop...
Snow!Snow!
Snow!

What the? Who the? This is the last thing I expected to see beyond the High Atlas Mnts...
Cedars ICedars I
Cedars I

My guide Hassan in front of a massive cedar tree...this area is renowned for its trees...I've never seen cedars this big...
Barbary ApesBarbary Apes
Barbary Apes

Okay, "ape" is a bit of a misnomer, monkeys actually...I call this one "The Money Shot"...
Barbary Apes IIBarbary Apes II
Barbary Apes II

This cheeky monkey actually ran up and grabbed my pant leg...
Cedre GouraudCedre Gouraud
Cedre Gouraud

Most famous cedar in the park, rumoured to be eight centuries old...unfortunately died a couple of years ago due to drought I believe...
Mountain PassMountain Pass
Mountain Pass

The road coming into Azrou from Fès as seen from the hike...


2nd June 2006

Brought back memories
Very nice to see the pictures. My husband is from Morocco, from Azrou and I had been there 3 times in 3 years ,once living in Azrou for 5 months.Your site made me smlie with happy memories.Thanks.
22nd August 2006

Thank you for the kind words Theresa, glad you enjoyed my pics and stories... Jeff

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb