Morocco = Crazytown


Advertisement
Published: March 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello faithful readers!

So, we somehow (after taking two buses, a beautiful ferry and an overnight train) made it to Marrakesh, which is right in the centre of Morocco. We found an Australian couple and clung to them, and eventually we were all dropped off in the main medina. Believe it or not, the very first thing we saw was a snake charmer...we knew right then that this place was made for us. After doing a bit of hotel shopping, we ended up at a very clean, very safe hotel where I proceeded to embarass myself deeply with my extremely limited French. We wasted no time in heading out to the market, and seriously? I do not have the adjectives to describe the utter chaos. Although a little overwhelming at first,

OH MAN...I AM ON AN ARABIC KEYBOARD AND I JUST GOT INTO CAPS LOCKS (OBVIOUSLY) AND I HAVE NO IDEA HOW TO GET OUT...OH WAIT, I WILL JUST HOLD DOWN SHIFT...

Okay, that is a little better. Anyway, after a while, we lost our inborn Canadian politeness, and learned to ignore the constant catcalls and requests to "just look, no buy".
We have done a bit of shopping; today Liz bartered her plastic, breaking watch for three pairs of shoes. Also, the food here is plentiful, cheap, and delicious.

Okay, this keypad is really irritating me, so I will stop here, but we promise to have more interesting journals soon.

Peace out,
Pia

p.s. Oh, I almost forgot -- through our incredible web-saviness, we have set up a photo album online. Check it out and witness the amazingly quick degeneration of our once youthful appearance. The address is:

photos.yahoo.com/eurolizandpia

Advertisement



13th March 2005

Title goes here.
You bartered your watch away? lol, thats awesome :) Sounds like you two are having a great time. I enjoy the pictures in your album thing. - Patrick

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb