Marrakesh


Advertisement
Published: March 4th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Last night we had our farewell dinner and started saying our goodbyes. The group has been a good mix of kind and curious people. As I had said earlier mostly young professionals , 2 lawyers , a nurse , a mechanical engineer , an environmental technician who had taught English in China for 3 years , a restaurant manager ,a teacher , a mom and her 18 year old daughter , a recent MA grad who studied international relations and a Canadian-polish couple in their late 50,s and Brenda and I. I especially enjoyed the young Austrian couple who seemed to enjoy my company as well . They tell me I am a role model for them because I still want travel and adventure as a regular part of my life . I tried to explain that it is not unusual for Canadians . We do seem to be able to retire younger than Europeans and travelling great distances is the norm for us . Whatever , they would be very happy to have me visit them in Vienna .. Who knows I may take them up on that.

And now for Marrakech.

Of the cities we have visited I think I like this one the best . We arrived on Thursday and because so many things close on Fridays we hastled to the Medina to tour the monuments . The Saddian Tombs from the 16th century are remarkable examples of fireworks stucco wood carving and paint. . They had been bricked closed in the 17th C and not rediscovered until 1917 during an aerial survey by the French . They are in great shape. The Bahia Palace was also spectacular . Built by the sultan for his 4 wives and 24 concubine and named for his favourite wife. The women lived very well in the harem but by their mid20,s they were deemed to old and were cast aside.

Tough life.

We ended the tour in the central square Jemaa el Fna . What a madhouse.! Around 4 pm the food stalls move in to half of the space , it is probably about 2 square blocks large, and showman of all kinds occupy the rest . African drummers , dancers , snake charmers , magicians , musical groups , traditional musicians , henna artists , ....It is quite mad!,..and I liked it but the energy level is so high I could only deal with it for an hour at a time. .

We are staying here 3 nights and glad for the rest .

Day2

We decided to use the hop on hop off bus to visit around the city the last 2 days . Gardens , olive and date orchards , and the fabulous hotel Mounds, where we had to pass through security and check our packs before being allowed entry for in a tassel we cafe . Such a wonderful place . 13 acres within the Medina . Gorgeous !

I must cut this short . We are headed to the train station to take the overnight to Tangier and then the ferry to Spain .

Shall keep you posted .Keep in touch.

Advertisement



4th March 2018

SOUNDS GREAT
DO YOU HAVE MUCH MORE ADVENTURE TIME LEFT OR RETURNING SOON? ROGER

Tot: 0.37s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb