Day 1 - Getting there, Pleased to see Ella and Chakib


Advertisement
Published: March 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Hessle - amigo dorm Airport - Essouira, Hotel Sahara


Day 1 a Travelling to Essouira



It was a fairly early start today. Ross took me to the train train station at 5.50 for the 6.20 train to King's Cross. It was an easy trip down; a bit of snoozing, a coffee, then more snoozing! I've given myself lots of time to get across to Luton airport, so no rush!



I sat for a while outside St Pancreas Station.....strange! There is a huge bird cage with a swing hanging from the centre. I didn't even notice it until a lad sat on the swing and started to work it forwards and backwards.... Whilst whistling! Then it registered in my brain, it's a human bird cage! Is it weird? Or is it art? To me, it became art when he started swinging!



Then my eyes, or maybe I should sat, ears, wandered over to the two 'mature' ladies sat close by me on the bench; they were really struggling with their phones, trying to work out how to get to their hotel. They looked over to me, with, 'can you help us' eyes. One lady asked if I was a local, and did I know the area? I laughed and stated I wasn't, but I certainly use the map app on a phone. So, i successfully intervened and set them off with the sat nav on their phone.



I set off to get the Luton connection. Carrying the 16k bag full of Ella's ASDA shopping, and extra treats, is killing me! It's so heavy to manage along side my 10k trolley case and my handbag! I can't wait to see her, and Chakib's faces when they open it all. It will be like watching the kids on Christmas morning.



I took the lift down to the platform. Why struggle? I got talking to 2 ladies from America, Mum and daughter. The younger lady was about my age. We spent the whole journey chatting between the three of us, mostly about their dismay of having Donald Trump as President! I enjoyed exchanging views!



The next leg of the journey was a short bus link to the airport. All three of us took the lift. They shared my theory. No excess struggling, if possible!



I was so pleased to offload my heavy bag at the drop off point. Note to self, paying extra for EasyJet plus is well worth the extra £10! I went off into the airport to enjoy some breakfast. Fried egg on toast with a cup of black Earl Grey..... Perfect!



I met back up with the two ladies. A final farewell as they leave for Pisa, and I leave for Essouira.

As I'd paid for EasyJet Plus, I was straight through in the speedy boarding, another bonus, and a second row seat on the plane. I was seated next to an older English couple. They were really friendly, but I didn't find it hat out until the last half an hour of the flight as I had slept through most of it. It was the same as on the train, sleep, coffee, sleep. I added on a bit of audio book and a bit of reading, before actually meeting them!



As I left the airport, through the main doors, I was really happy to see Ella and Chakib, grinning at me like a pair of Cheshire cats. After our hugs and hellos, we were soon off in the car to Essouira.



We drove straight to our hotel. It feels like I was here only a few weeks ago, yet it was actually, it is nearly five months! We got sorted in out rooms, then I emptied the goody bag for them. It was just as I had expected. They were both excited to be getting all the food and treats; Ella couldn't wait to get at the Candy King cup of sweets, whilst Chakib ate his first ever Mr Kipling Battenburg!



After getting settled in our rooms, and sorting all of our stuff out, we went out for a look round. It felt really strange, as I was showing Chakib and Ella where everything was, as I know it better than they do! We sat and has a nous nous, (half and half) coffee and milk. We discussed where we are going to go whilst I am here. We talked about various options, different road trips, and places to go. We all agreed on a shorter trip, then a bit of chill time in Tamraght, rather than a long road trip, lots of car time, less relaxing! I'm happy with that.



We wandered around the medina, just taking it all in before going for dinner. We opted for a set menu meal, each one of us chose a different meal. I had vegetable soup, vegetarian pastille (shredded vegetables in a sweet pastry), followed by a Moroccan Crepe. Chakib and Ella had soup, then different takin es, Ella had crepe, Chakib had baclava.



It was a really good meal, and only about 70 dirham each. (£5.50)

We are all quite tired by the time we finished eating; we set of back to the hotel. A good end to a good day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb