Essaouira - Of Sunshine, Seafood and a Cold Beer on a Patio


Advertisement
Published: May 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Harbour IIIHarbour IIIHarbour III

Love the blues in this pic...
Essaouira, my final stop. I can't tell you how happy I was to arrive here to the sight of the beach and ocean, awesome. After two rainy days in Marrakech this is exactly what I needed; a beautiful, laid back spot to relax in before heading back to Casablanca and then home.

I had read mixed reviews about this town but I loved it. Stayed right in the medina again (most places were there) but there wasn't the insanity of some of the other places I had visited. The vendors were for the most part pretty laid back which made it fun to poke around in their shops without the hard sell. The streets/alleys seemed more welcoming, the people friendlier, I don't know, hard to put my finger on it...

Had a great time strolling down the beach everyday, wandering around the port, harbour and ramparts. The restaurants were plentiful and excellent, had some amazing seafood here. It was also nice to be able to sit on a patio in the sun and have a couple of beers for the first time in Morocco...had the sunburn to go along with it as well!

All in all the perfect place to wind up my grand adventure...


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Stop!Stop!
Stop!

Loved these...haha...
BeachBeach
Beach

Looking down the beach from the Port...
AlleyAlley
Alley

One of the streets along the ramparts, very cool with shops all along the route...
Alley IIAlley II
Alley II

More of the same street...
RampartsRamparts
Ramparts

Cannons along the ramparts...
Ramparts IIRamparts II
Ramparts II

Orson Welles shot a lot of "Othello" in Essaouira, I think this may have been one of the locales at the end of the ramparts...
The CoastThe Coast
The Coast

Beautiful...
Workshops...Workshops...
Workshops...

...along the ramparts, the woodworking is phenomenal...
MasksMasks
Masks

Shop in the medina...love this pic...
Beach IIBeach II
Beach II

Looking back down the beach at the medina...
Beach IIIBeach III
Beach III

Kite surfing (far too cool!) and windsurfing...
Self PortraitSelf Portrait
Self Portrait

Maybe this will get me a few pints at the Fox for the advertising...haha...
Cold beer, sandals and surf...Cold beer, sandals and surf...
Cold beer, sandals and surf...

If this doesn't sum it all up!


4th January 2007

hey, I loved your photo tour, morocco is high on my list of places to go. I will return to your site to take notes !! cheers, jr
4th January 2007

Thanks, glad you liked 'em! Feel free to drop me a line if you decide to go and have any questions... J

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb