Morocco update


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz » Essaouira
December 11th 2008
Published: December 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Morocco is wonderful. I have been to Casablanka to Marrakech to Essaouira to Sibiceoki and I now reside in Imsouanne, a small surf town. I have been living in a Moroccan cave (beach front shack) on a sandy cliff ledge right next to the ocean. To me, it is a much more than an exotic castle in paradise. I fall asleep to the music of the ocean every night and try to swim in it every day. We cook tagine (traditional meals cooked in cone shaped platters) on a one burner, gas tank stove by candel light every evening. It could never get old. The bread is by far the best bread I have tasted in my life and a massive, round bread is only about 13 cents. I rarely know what time or day it is, and am soaking up such a peaceful lifestyle. I have been here for almost 13 days with David, Drew, and our new best friend/personal tour guide/translator/moroccan native, Kalid. He is a happy, free spirited guy who left Casablanca to travel the country with us for a while. He leaves us five times a day to pray after washing his face, hands, and feet. Islam is as abundant as the koran prayer calls that ring over every town and city daily. So is Arabic.

I have been slowly learning to surf, climbin desert mountains, wandering over rocky coast cliffs that boarder crashing waves, learning to cook everything, bouldering on sandstone beach boulders, strolling along the beach everyday, including during gorgeous sunsets and moonlit low tides, making sand sculptures, reading, writing, playing music, and so much more. There is so much left to say about every new place, every new day, every new person, and every new moment, but I lack the time, expression and patience wih this flipflop computer keyboard. I want everyone to know I miss them, love them, and hope you all have an amazing christmas.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



11th December 2008

Delectable Treats!
Tally! Love your blog! Just curious, so which is better (or more tolerable).....sheep leg fat in Morocco or Stiff-Pup in South Africa? Nothing that a big heap of peanut butter can't make more delectable, right?! Ha ha! Btw, anymore rusk or Niki Bar left : ) I hope you are taking some amazing pictures on your journey to share. Take care, be safe, be well and have fun! Miss you much! ~ Yui
12th December 2008

Cambodia
Wow Tally, Looks great, you gonna be ready for Knee-deep mud in a rice paddy in Cambodia? See you this Spring!
13th January 2009

Wow. I was just looking around on the internet for some inspiration on this very boring night. you are a really good writer! but when seeing the pictures I suddenly realised we met in Imessouane.! I dont know if you remember me, but i was the girl staying next to you with the moroccan boy Houssam. This is so strange, I really NEVER read random travel blogs on the internet, and the first I read is yours. You are a good inspiration for me =] bye bye! Odile

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb