Shookran


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Grand Casablanca » Casablanca
October 5th 2010
Published: October 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Shookran means thank you in Moroccan Arabic. There are a few different languages commonly spoken in Morocco; Arabic, Moroccan Arabic and 3 different types of Berber dialect. This is pretty intense for just one country.

After 3 amazing weeks in Morocco, I got dropped off at the airport in Casablanca. There are only 2 terminals. I am dropped off at the wrong terminal. I started getting flustered as everything was in Arabic. Imagine waiting for the 6 train at 77th street at 8:30am. That is how crowded part of the airport was. I have been to airports that are so large you can take a 25 minute transfer and have been perfectly fine finding my way. This airport was super small - yet extremely confusing and unorganized. After checking in, I had to go through security a 2nd time (upon arrival at the airport they scan your luggage). Then on to immigration you go. There was a huge group from Ghana. What I realized is that they don’t actually have their photos in their passports - it looks like they have a separate id card with their picture. Many screaming children and lots of people from different nationalities fill the airport. I didn’t hear 1 word of English for hours. After checking in, it took over an hour to get to my gate. Upon arrival, I assumed I would just make it to start boarding the plane. There is obviously no plane, yet people are lined up at the gate. I went window shopping in the terminal to pass the time. There were no announcement made about the delay. I went with the flow. Upon boarding my Air Maroc flight, I realize the plane is decorated from the early 80’s. Things are broken and simply old. I was the only American on the plane. The male flight attendant told me I was the only one who spoke English, so the pilot’s announcements in English were for me.

Overall, the experience in Morocco was a positive one. Besides my friend Betsy, I didn’t meet a single American. Part of that statement puts a smile on my face; another bit of me wonders why more Americans don’t visit this interesting and mystical country. I enjoyed everything, but liked the beginning of my trip the best as we soaked in a lot of the local culture. As for my tour, I was lucky to be with such a small and sweet group. I would highly recommend that people don’t come here during Ramadan. Once it started, you can certainly get a sense of the difference in hospitality (understandably so).

Below is my final itinerary. It is a little ass backwards as the tour was a last minute thing. I wouldn’t recommend doing this as it’s laid out, but if you want suggestions feel free to reach out to me.
On to my next adventure I go… Spain. Starting point: Barcelona!
*Recommended
Marrakech Accommodations at Riad Mariana*.
1 - Walk around Djemaa El Fna* and dinner at night market.
2 - English speaking tour guide to see monuments (Ali Ben Youssef, Medersa, Mosque, Koubba ba’Adiyn) and the souks* (approx 4 hours). Hire driver in afternoon to see Majorelle Gardens, Koutoubia Mosque and to stop at Bus Station to buy bus tickets for Agadir.
3 - Day trip to Cascades d’Ozoud (Waterfalls)* (approx 8 hours). Dinner feast at Riad* (short rib tagine with pears and walnuts)

Agadir Accomodations at Atlantic Palace.
4 - Bus from Marrakech to Agadir. Explore Agadir.
5 - Beach Day*. Marina at night*.
6 - Morning at the Souks. Afternoon at pool.
7 - English speaking driver/tour guide of Banana Fields, Massa Dam, Dunes of Resmouka, Lunch in a Berber Village, Tiznit, Souss-Massa National Park, Sidi R’bat Beach* (approx 8 hours).
Essaouira Accommodations at Riad Chakir Mogador.
8 - Bus to Essaouira. Explore Port and Beach. Dinner at fish stalls (port) where you pick your own fish and they cook it for you*.
9 - Camel rides on the beach (approx 3 hours).
10 - l'Atelier Madada* (Moroccan cooking class - approx 4 hours with tour of spice souk).
Imlil Accommodations at Riad Oussagou.
11 - Drive to Imlil. Walk through town. Couscous feast at Riad*
12 - Lazy day on roof to relax and read (trekking available around mountains and Berber villages).
Marrakech
13 - Drive to Marrakech (no public transportation options). Accommodations at Riad Al Fassia Aguedal*. Relax by pool and have dinner at hotel’s restaurant*.
14 - Accommodations at Riad Mariana Marrakech. Hamam day at Riad Fassia*. Riad feast for dinner at Mariana.
Casablanca
15 - Betsy departs at 11am. Take train from Marrakech to Casablanca. Overnight at Barcelo Casablanca.
Mystical Tours of Imperial Cities
16 - Drive from Casablanca to Rabat. Accommodations at Golden Tulip Farah. City tours of Casablanca and Rabat - Royal Palace, The Hassan II Mosque*, Oudaya Kasbah*, Mohamed V Mausoleum and the Hassan Tower.
17- Drive from Rabat to Volubilis (Roman City)*, Meknes (Jewish Quarter and Royal Stables*), Fez. Accommodations at Zalagh Parc Palace.
18 - Fez. Visit the medieval Medina*
19 - Drive from Fes to Beni Mellal/ Marrakech. Accommodations at Atlas Asni.
20 - Marrakech. Visit Menara garden, the Saadian tombs and the Bahia Palace. Shop at fixed government market* (best quality, but no negotiating)
21 - Drive to Casablanca. Accommodations at Barcelo Casablanca. Afternoon walking along the beach*
22 - Fly to Spain!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1181s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb