Day 7 - Fès medina, shopping


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Fès-Boulemane » Fes
March 7th 2016
Published: March 7th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Day 7 - Fès medina, shopping!

Another good nights sleep! I went to bed at 10.30, and slept solid until 7am. I went to breakfast with Heather, and met up with Cy from Boston. Breakfast was good.

Today we are doing a sight seeing tour of Fès medina.

We started with a short walk through a town area. There's were a few small shops with houses above; Muslims live on the left, Jews on the right, but all in harmony. The guide showed us the green and brown loose soap cream; green for domestic use, and mown for the skin. He raved in how good the skin one is; although it looks disgusting! We continued to a panoramicbr viewpoint. What a view! I had a great picture taken, a hit similar to my picture jumping at Taj, the guide said, "you flew in Fes!"

We then went to a pottery centre, where people learn to do pottery and mosaic work. I looked at buying a tagine, but changed my mind and bought a miniature one.... As I have only a backpack! There was so much I could have bought, maybe the constraints of a backpack is good for me!

We walked through the medina of Fès el-Bali (Old Fez). It’s an assault on the senses, a warren of narrow lanes and covered bazaars fit to bursting with aromatic food stands, craft workshops, mosques and an endless parade of people. Old and new constantly collide – the man driving the donkeys and mules that remain the main form of transport is likely to be chatting on his mobile phone, while the ancient skyline is punctuated equally with satellite dishes and minarets.

We saw the first university, then enjoyed all of the tight, narrow streets,with all the twists and turns, unfolding many hidden treasures.

We went to the tannery .... Yayy.... I got a gorgeous pair of camel leather boots. I got a good price for Fes, but not as cheap as in Taghazout souk, but I am so happy with them. Finally, I have warm feet! Tomorrow, Khaled is bringing me socks!

We went for lunch in the medina. I had a salad with bread, which is so not a salad, followed by chicken pastilla, then fresh fruit salad and coffee with milk. I was so full after it!

We also went to the silk weave place. They weave from the threads from Aloe Vera plants! I did want a cushion cover to add to my collection, but no way am I paying £14 for one simple cushion cover! The guy showed us how to wrap a turban for the desert camel ride tomorrow!

Everyone was happy with today's shopping! We dropped by the supermarket on the way back to the hotel. We had to buy packed lunch for tomorrow.

Again, I can t manage an evening meal, so staying at the hotel, having a coffee. It is a 5am breakfast in morning, so I prefer a relaxed evening!
N


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



7th March 2016

Those boots are meant for walking! (And that's just what they'll do)
Hi Lesley....so glad you got some boots....and what boots they are.....they look fabulous! Love the whole outfit! You look great!

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb